Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....  (Read 242 times)

SkipWX10

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 48
Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« on: March 04, 2018, 01:33:20 PM »

....my front facing camera could not capture the QR code to connect to the WM100. Thinking I was smart, I took a photo of the QR code with my phone and then enlarged and held up the image to the camera...BINGO...or so I thought...Wifi app said failure due to ''device not connected to the internet".

I figured the emulator was connected to the internet because I was able to go to the Play Store and download the Wifi app...anyone with an emulator care to comment?

Well, I uninstalled the emulator and might try again later. Something interesting though, when I logged into my Google account with the setup of the emulator, my gmail dinged that I had just logged into my account with an LG Q6...I guess that's what the emulator pretends to be?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7794
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 09:04:22 PM »

Which emulator are you trying.
They don't all perform the same.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

SkipWX10

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 10:13:41 PM »

It was Wemu, IIRC. It was a little funky but did have a pretty true Android emulation on screen. I think it's mainly for gamers though.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7794
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2018, 10:19:17 PM »

Try Andy, it works for me.
It takes a long time to install (at least it did for me)but it works well with the Wi-Fi app.
Scanning of the QR code did take a bit of fiddling but at least it did pick it up.
I found several emulators had issues with a network connection for what ever reason.
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7794
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2018, 03:17:48 AM »

After posting the above I attempted to open Andy and it failed B:( (said to reinstall) Like a fool I tried. ::) :'
I notice there was a newer version on their site so I attempted it figuring it would be a faster install.
It wasn't, and it failed to fix anything.

I have always used BlueStacks in the pass as it was always performed well. The reason I never used it for the Willie app as it didn't recognize my desktop camera. I noticed on the site they also had a newer version (3) which I attempted to install on my laptop.
this downloaded and installed so quickly I thought it was corrupt but it was ok.
Start up is still a bit slow but faster then Andy.
I installed the App from a AKP I had on my laptop rather then going to the app store so I'm not sure how that will work.
Scanning the QR code was so much faster then Andy and it put a short cut to the Wi-Fi app on the windows desktop. :)%
Clicking the shortcut auto starts BlueStacks and loads the Wi-Fi app which should make loading on start up a breeze.
If you have issues with an emulator, dump it and load BlueStacks

Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

SkipWX10

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 48
Re: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2018, 08:18:31 AM »

Thanks for that info. If I try again, it will be Bluestacks. Funny, the reason I didn't use it frst was because of what I had read was the painful install...;-)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 243
  • Posts: 7794
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Tried to set up Android emulator on my laptop but....
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2018, 08:25:06 AM »

Make sure you use version 3 it is smoother and faster then 2
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.