Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Power loss?  (Read 413 times)

VinRin57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 48
Power loss?
« on: March 05, 2018, 10:20:49 AM »

Question- I was told by X10 tech that itís ok to unplug and relocate WiFi module without any loss.
But! Power went out for under a minute and module forgot timer settings?
I noticed lights didnít go on and redid settings???
Thoughts??? Thx!!!
Logged

SkipWX10

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 58
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 10:33:48 AM »

From discussions here, it seems as though the WM100 loses it's time of day during power loss. I don't think it loses the timer settings, just the actual time and needs to be reset to the android/apple device by sync. Hope that helps.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8386
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2018, 11:25:37 AM »

when you unplug and move the Wm100 or power is lost it must be resynced with the app currently to reset the onboard clock.
If this was not done that is why the timmer failed.
It is hoped that a firmware update will alloww the WM100 to sync the time with the internet in the future.
It should be noted that if the WM100 loses power while connected to the app it will auto sync to the app once power is restored.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

VinRin57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 48
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 04:08:24 AM »

Thank you! All makes sense re time of day.  And yes, timer settings and devices remained intact.
Thanks!
Logged

bubbah

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2018, 02:34:23 PM »

Questions about power loss recovery:

1.  Is automation of sync after power loss or even sync script on a schedule planned?

2.  Will the device live peacefully behind a UPC device?
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 154
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2018, 02:39:54 PM »

Questions about power loss recovery:

1.  Is automation of sync after power loss or even sync script on a schedule planned?

2.  Will the device live peacefully behind a UPC device?

The WM100 should be peaceful enough but be aware that most UPS devices have EMI filters that may unacceptably attenuate X10 transmissions.  Doesn't hurt to try though!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12457
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2018, 06:00:58 PM »

I would also suspect the UPS AC power line filter will absorb the X10 power line signals.
I know owners of an ISY994i interfaced through a 2413S PLM to the power line. Loose their power line commands behind an UPS. But since the PLM is Dual Band. It uses RF to the closer Dual Band modules that then pass the signals on by RF and power line.
Logged

normd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 14
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2018, 09:22:25 AM »

Iím not sure what happened, but my WM100 forgot to turn on my timers around 7pm last night but it did fine the night before. It sent the off signal at the right time hours later. Ideas?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8386
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2018, 09:29:17 AM »

Are you able to view the WM100 history?
If so does it show a on signal being sent?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

normd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 14
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2018, 11:11:22 AM »

Nothing in the history for 7pm last night but on signals sent the previous night. Off signals sent both nights.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8386
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Power loss?
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2018, 11:38:50 AM »

Double check your ON timer settings to be sure you didn't exclude Sunday.
Is it possible you had a power blip that occurred when the ON timer was to trigger?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.