Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?  (Read 732 times)

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2018, 07:47:19 AM »

Well, I did a bad thing.  While trying to debug the issue with my second iPad, I lost my connection to the WM on my first iPad.  Iíve tried everything but a complete reset, and I canít get the app to connect to the device.  It times out every time.

Iím going backwards! B:(

Update: whoa!  I started up the app this morning to try to connect. All of a sudden, the app refreshed, and the app home screen showed up.  Under "devices" I can see four out of 12. Canít sync with hub - it still times out.  Scratching my head.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2018, 08:31:49 AM by ceedee »
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #16 on: September 22, 2018, 09:17:54 AM »

I got the app to load on both iPads. I also have all my devices loaded, despite sync issues. Hereís what I did:
- attempt to set up a new hub (even though mine is existing)
- scan qr code
- stop at WiFi/Ssid password page, and kill the app (iOS swipe)
- restart the app - App home page loads, but no devices will be loaded
- instead of trying a sync, I went to my android phone and opened my device list
- hereís the magic: I opened a device setting on the phone, and pressed SAVE (no need to change anything)
- the device will instantly sync to the new device
- lather, rinse, repeat

I did this successfully for two iPads

The single-device sync gets around the timeout.

9/24: well, not quite!  Turns out that not all of the device settings come over. I had to "touch" a timer setting on a few devices to get them to sync.  For instance, turn on off a day, then turn it back on;  that will force a sync.  Of course, if a full sync worked, I would be fine.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2018, 11:54:28 AM by ceedee »
Logged

normd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2018, 11:57:23 AM »

Brilliant.  Too bad this software is still having birthing pains. It is amazing for what it does, just needs to get some bugs straightened out.
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2018, 07:53:16 AM »

Just wanted to document that the app crashes regularly on my iPad Air 2 running iOS 12.
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2018, 11:24:17 AM »

I contacted support, and was told that a new version is in the approval loop, as of last Friday. 
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2018, 12:48:44 PM »

I contacted support, and was told that a new version is in the approval loop, as of last Friday.

He was referring to v1.3, which was already released.  He didnít know that.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 252
  • Posts: 8406
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2018, 12:52:50 PM »

I contacted support, and was told that a new version is in the approval loop, as of last Friday.

He was referring to v1.3, which was already released.  He didn’t know that.
  rofl B:(
I'm still hopeful a new release is in the approval loop but it seems to take for ever to get to the end of the loop ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2018, 07:30:31 PM »

I just installed a new version of the iOS app today (v 1.4). I did not see a firmware update, so Iím still running 26.   Does anyone know what the changes/fixes are?

- history still fails
- occasionally, I get the "info" pop up when attempting a sync. However, the sync still fails. More often than not, I get a sync error immediately.

So, no change from prior version, at least on these two issues.

I am running iOS 12 on an iPad Air 2.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 07:43:25 PM by ceedee »
Logged

Tucson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 59
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2018, 10:14:53 PM »

Yup, about the same result

iPhone 6s iOS 11.4 ( Holding IOS versions so I will have one working device )
   History sync works 
   Data sync works
   Manual on/off works

iPhone 8 iOS 11.41 and IOS 12
   History sync intermittent, about 1 in 4 tries
   Data sync intermittent, about 1 in 4 tries
   Manual on/off works

iPad Air 2 iOS 11.41 and 12
   History sync fails
   Data sync fails
   Manual on/off works
« Last Edit: October 05, 2018, 07:43:55 PM by Tucson »
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 136
Re: Is anyone running the app on an iPad?
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2018, 10:19:43 PM »

You get the iPhone 6 to work with 11.4,  but my iPad Air 2 failed with same.  My iPhone 5, running 10.4, has been flawless on all operations, which is why, like you, I keep it around.

My android phone is a mess.  B:(
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 10:21:20 PM by ceedee »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.