Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Author Topic: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch  (Read 2936 times)

dspiffy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 65
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #45 on: April 13, 2018, 03:04:16 AM »

Some scary stuff in this thread, particularly the "electrician" that switched the polarity!

Switched neutrals are legal last I checked, but uncommon and not a great idea.

Solder and cloth tape splices predating wire nuts is true. 

Any dimmable LED bulb should be safe on any switch, but it may not function well.

Any non dimmable LED bulb should be safe on any switch that supplies full voltage.

Most of them use switching power supplies.  The worst thing you'll get is blinking.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12632
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #46 on: April 13, 2018, 01:23:47 PM »

A large number of dimmable LED bulbs will not work on an X10 two wire wall switch. Since it gets it power through the load and made for incandescent loads only.
Some glow dimly, some only work with the local paddle, go On or Off but not both status and some make so much noise. X10 stops controlling the switch completely.
LM465 Lamp modules {both older and Soft Start} usually work better.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 01:47:32 PM by Brian H »
Logged

racerfern

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 254
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #47 on: April 18, 2018, 01:24:56 PM »

I stumbled across this device that might be worth doing an experiment with. https://www.thesmartesthouse.com/collections/fibaro/products/fibaro-bypass-2-fgb-002

I don't have X10 installed in any lights right now, having switched over to z-wave, however I think this might give that little needed load to stop dimming/flickering issues.
Logged

dspiffy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 65
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #48 on: April 18, 2018, 07:48:14 PM »

I stumbled across this device that might be worth doing an experiment with. https://www.thesmartesthouse.com/collections/fibaro/products/fibaro-bypass-2-fgb-002

I don't have X10 installed in any lights right now, having switched over to z-wave, however I think this might give that little needed load to stop dimming/flickering issues.

I wonder what is in there!
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5941
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #49 on: April 18, 2018, 11:55:54 PM »

I stumbled across this device that might be worth doing an experiment with. https://www.thesmartesthouse.com/collections/fibaro/products/fibaro-bypass-2-fgb-002
Interesting. Maybe a L-C network, passing just enough current to keep the dimmer alive. One owner on a blog, said it did not dissipate heat, which makes me think is  probably more than a simple resistor.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12632
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #50 on: April 19, 2018, 12:08:41 AM »

Sales page indicated:
Power consumption: < 1.4W

I would also think it maybe a resistor. So it can pass some current when switch is Off. To keep the electronics supplied with some power.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2018, 12:10:38 AM by Brian H »
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6813
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #51 on: April 19, 2018, 04:12:19 AM »

I stumbled across this device that might be worth doing an experiment with. https://www.thesmartesthouse.com/collections/fibaro/products/fibaro-bypass-2-fgb-002

According to it's specs.... it's really small too. I think it might fit the box with the switch.... maybe.
Logged
This is the golden age of home automation. Many will miss it.

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #52 on: April 19, 2018, 04:20:44 AM »

I don't see how it could be in the same box as the switch. Maybe the same box as the light socket
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12632
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #53 on: April 19, 2018, 12:07:31 PM »

The sales page and downloaded instructions.
So it it across the load.
I agree with Knightrider. It shows it is in the load fixtures electrical box.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #54 on: April 19, 2018, 01:08:58 PM »

Can't shunt the load from the switch. (On two wires)
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

racerfern

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 254
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #55 on: April 19, 2018, 01:14:41 PM »

If you have a neutral in the switch box, you could go from load to neutral, if not then at the light is how I read it.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #56 on: April 19, 2018, 07:42:04 PM »

If I had neutral at the switch, I wouldn't need this shunt.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6813
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #57 on: April 19, 2018, 09:21:36 PM »

The sales page and downloaded instructions.
So it it across the load.
I agree with Knightrider. It shows it is in the load fixtures electrical box.

Can't shunt the load from the switch. (On two wires)

I don't know what I was thinking..... just wishful thinking I'd guess.
Logged
This is the golden age of home automation. Many will miss it.

racerfern

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 254
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #58 on: April 20, 2018, 12:10:57 AM »

Quote
If I had neutral at the switch, I wouldn't need this shunt.

Depending on the bulb(s) being used you still might need it. Too many variables with so many different bulb manufacturers.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5941
Re: LEDs with X10 Wall Switch
« Reply #59 on: April 20, 2018, 04:10:53 PM »

Depending on the bulb(s) being used you still might need it. Too many variables with so many different bulb manufacturers.
If the switch had a neutral, what function would the shunt be providing?
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.