Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11

Author Topic: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi  (Read 7824 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2018, 11:13:53 PM »

I'm still slow at figuring out all the widgets but I'm progressing.
I still don't have all my modules configured in HG or HA-Bridge but have the most used ones.
all security sensors are now configured and showing correct status. :)%
I love the energy monitor as that will come in handy at the off grid place.
I added a new star trek background to give a futuristic look to the web UI
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2018, 11:35:03 AM »

Back to Camera setup.
You need to enable the IP camera program then you can bind the widget.
I now have the IP camera widget appearing in the group however I'm having difficultly putting an image.
Just getting a black screen right now so the url isn't just right.
I have 3 different brands 2 are mpeg type and 2 cameras are Airsight HD cameras. I can pull images up in Windows with my program Alex10 B:(
Have  the mpeg cameras displaying a image now (easyn & foss cameras) :)%
Now on to the HD ones
« Last Edit: May 05, 2018, 11:54:35 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1094
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2018, 12:23:10 PM »

Back to Camera setup.
You need to enable the IP camera program then you can bind the widget.
I now have the IP camera widget appearing in the group however I'm having difficultly putting an image.
Just getting a black screen right now so the url isn't just right.
I have 3 different brands 2 are mpeg type and 2 cameras are Airsight HD cameras. I can pull images up in Windows with my program Alex10 B:(
Have  the mpeg cameras displaying a image now (easyn & foss cameras) :)%
Now on to the HD ones

Ok so you're flying now.

Just check if HG supports the URL you are trying to display. Shot.jpg is a definite. Not sure about HD support. Depends what libraries were included in the HG package. Just experiment with URLs for your cameras till you find the best fit. Don't forget if you have a username and password on your camera don't forget to include this on your widget URL.

Might be an idea to register on the homegenie.club forum to seek any particular assistance you might need. Replies can be a bit slow coming but for those awkward problems you may well be able to find an answer there.

Of course you can search manually through the homegenie old forum. Invaluable source of information.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2018, 12:26:18 PM »

Thank petra I'll keep plugging along.
Just one more to go and this one is being stubborn B:(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1094
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2018, 12:41:19 PM »

Thank petra I'll keep plugging along.
Just one more to go and this one is being stubborn B:(

Nice one. You're just about there. Get a Weather Underground key and you can configure the weather widget.

Now you can do your own write up to show other users here how powerful the Raspberry Pi/Homegenie combination is in the HA world.  >!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2018, 12:52:36 PM »

Got them all up :)% I needed the resolution in the string for the HD cameras.
Now on to Voice (sound) announcements do these come through the Pi the Web UI or both?
If through the Pi does it require the desk top to be displaying?
Since I'm attempting this on the Zero W I may be out of luck for this as sound goes through the HDMI there is no external sound jack. ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1094
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #21 on: May 05, 2018, 01:21:19 PM »

Got them all up :)% I needed the resolution in the string for the HD cameras.
Now on to Voice (sound) announcements do these come through the Pi the Web UI or both?
If through the Pi does it require the desk top to be displaying?
Since I'm attempting this on the Zero W I may be out of luck for this as sound goes through the HDMI there is no external sound jack. ::) :'

As far as I remember you had to configure the ALSA sound mixer for sound. Search the Raspberry Pi forum for that one. I think sound was done on the Zero via a Pi Hat but not 100% sure.

I assume you have you location configured via the settings section. Also for security reasons I'd take the server off the default port 80. 8081 and up would be fine.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2487
    • davehouston.org
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #22 on: May 05, 2018, 02:41:53 PM »

Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #23 on: May 05, 2018, 02:46:25 PM »


I assume you have you location configured via the settings section. Also for security reasons I'd take the server off the default port 80. 8081 and up would be fine.
Already done that, Actually was one of the first things I done.
The Weather Underground is configured for a long delay as I have other apps using the same key.
Seems each instance of the widget needs the key, I have it correctly displaying on the Dashboard.
Sound on the Zero is complicated. See...
https://learn.adafruit.com/adding-basic-audio-ouput-to-raspberry-pi-zero/overview
Thanks Dave.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2018, 03:22:27 PM »

Since triggering sound from the Zero is a bit more then I wish to take on  I'll leave that to my 3B+ once I set that up.
I'll move on to creating simple macros for now.
I may be able to trigger sound from a PC (which there usually is always one on here), if I can fire off a HTTP or UDP call in a macro. ::) :'
The Macro recorder looks and sounds so simple. Can it really be that simple?
https://youtu.be/zwqJ3YeqOTc
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1094
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2018, 04:02:34 PM »

Since triggering sound from the Zero is a bit more then I wish to take on  I'll leave that to my 3B+ once I set that up.
I'll move on to creating simple macros for now.
I may be able to trigger sound from a PC (which there usually is always one on here), if I can fire off a HTTP or UDP call in a macro. ::) :'
The Macro recorder looks and sounds so simple. Can it really be that simple?
https://youtu.be/zwqJ3YeqOTc

It really is that simple. Macro recorder records your actions and is saved for playback when required. Scripts and basic scripting is a doddle too. If you’re familiar with C# the sky is the limit here.

I’d say Homegenie will absorb your home automation efforts from here on in. It really is very flexible and adaptable and your setup can be as simple or complex as you desire. You’ll will notice the difference when you shift your setup to the RaspberryPi 3.
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6856
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #26 on: May 06, 2018, 12:50:24 AM »

Since triggering sound from the Zero is a bit more then I wish to take on  I'll leave that to my 3B+ once I set that up.
I'll move on to creating simple macros for now.
I may be able to trigger sound from a PC (which there usually is always one on here),...........

Maybe a mini USB windows device might be the "ticket"?
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #27 on: May 06, 2018, 11:57:36 AM »

Maybe a mini USB windows device might be the "ticket"?
Are you suggesting Windows Core on a separate Pi with sound capabilities and pass the info to it?


Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1094
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #28 on: May 06, 2018, 12:21:42 PM »

Not sure if you picked this up but here's the Android App for Homegenie to put the finishing touches to your setup. Just download the file on your android device and configure the settings and you're good to go.

https://m.apkpure.com/homegenie/com.glabs.homegenie
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9469
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #29 on: May 06, 2018, 12:26:11 PM »

Thanks petera that should work on my old AirPad and allow me to put that back into operation.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.