Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]

Author Topic: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi  (Read 663 times)

petera

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 6
  • Posts: 145
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #75 on: May 10, 2018, 05:46:00 PM »

After a power outage a router may need a manual reset. A $5 RTC provides a bit of insurance.
Or if your unlucky and your ISP is slow at repairing internet connections you could be days with incorrect time.
4 day 13 hours and counting (no internet) at my off grid place. B:(
Originaly I had also thought this RTC was not needed.

I'm assuming your power outage would be covered by some form of UPS

Hard to believe in this day and age you'd be without Internet for 4 plus days. I assume wherever off grid is you have some form of choice of providers.

When you say "off grid" what exactly do you mean.
Logged

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 2276
    • davehouston.org
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #76 on: May 10, 2018, 06:33:57 PM »

I'm assuming your power outage would be covered by some form of UPS
My UPS provides enough time to do a controlled shutdown of my PCs, Mac, Router, modem, etc. but my Pi is not supported by the UPS.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7714
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #77 on: May 10, 2018, 06:38:22 PM »


I'm assuming your power outage would be covered by some form of UPS

Hard to believe in this day and age you'd be without Internet for 4 plus days. I assume wherever off grid is you have some form of choice of providers.

When you say "off grid" what exactly do you mean.
Power is via solar and a power outage is very rare usually only for a second when the back up gen kicks in.
No power lines coming to the place.
Yes there are other internet options but the ISP we're with has been solid till now.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 2276
    • davehouston.org
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #78 on: May 11, 2018, 06:11:55 PM »

Quote
As mentioned in previous posts, maybe the makers of the WM100 should try and replicate that usability and twin their unit with something like the Pi to give their users far greater versatility with X10 technology.

Quote
I have brought up the idea with Authinx who then passed the idea on to the factory.
Authinx is interested in doing something like this, creating a wm100 pro as to speak.

I'd worry that a WM100 Pro might be as slow in developing as was the WM100. A better move might be to release an API and add a pass-through function wherein the WM100 would transceive commands from trusted devices to PLC.[/quote]
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 242
  • Posts: 7714
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #79 on: May 11, 2018, 06:40:42 PM »


I'd worry that a WM100 Pro might be as slow in developing as was the WM100. A better move might be to release an API and add a pass-through function wherein the WM100 would transceive commands from trusted devices to PLC.
I suspect a WM100 pro might be something like this:
This isn't for everybody but were I to play I'd use a Pi Zero W + RTC + RF RX & TX + XTB-232 + FreeBasic
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M105UFC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/SMAKN%C2%AE-315Mhz-Transmitter-Receiver-Arduino/dp/B00UWBJ7GK/ref=pd_sbs_21_1?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B00UWBJ7GK&pd_rd_r=YD97Q73ME77FWAAMRM7N&pd_rd_w=NyWON&pd_rd_wg=m5N98&psc=1&refRID=YD97Q73ME77FWAAMRM7N
http://www.cdadapter.com/srtune.htm
https://www.freebasic.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=21433

In the mean time I have my own WM100 Pro with a Pi + cm15 mesh.
I've just about got my initial wish list accomplished using HG and HA-Bridge. :)%
I started a Home Genie for dummies thread on my forum and will add some info to it once I have the important things of my initial wish completed.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 36
  • Posts: 2276
    • davehouston.org
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 11
  • Posts: 1252
Re: What I'd like to do with X10 and my Pi
« Reply #81 on: May 11, 2018, 11:58:30 PM »

Obviously if NTP isnt available for whatever reason, a RTC would be a cheap option.  I have a couple sitting in my project box because they are so cheap.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.