Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Difference Between WS and LM in the app  (Read 362 times)

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« on: May 02, 2018, 04:12:00 AM »

Anyone else notice that a lamp module has 12 dimming steps, and the wall switch has 24?

I didn't know there was a hardware difference.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

SkipWX10

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 65
Re: Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 10:04:38 AM »

Hadn't noticed this until you mentioned it....never looked that closely. I always assumed that either was infinitely dimmable since you can set any percentage in AHP.
Logged

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1739
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2018, 11:14:10 AM »

So, is this a quirk or a bug?
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8629
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2018, 11:28:52 AM »

So, is this a quirk or a bug?
I'd say neither the lamp modules handle dim differently then the switches.
Switches allow for a wider dim variance however with LEDs that isn't as noticeable.
I'm not sure why the developer choose to code this way as most just do a % value.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2419
    • davehouston.org
Re: Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2018, 12:16:40 PM »

« Last Edit: May 03, 2018, 12:19:50 PM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 105
  • Posts: 2023
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2018, 08:02:55 PM »

I'm not sure why the developer choose to code this way as most just do a % value.

Actually, there are four different ways to specify the dim level in the X10 Protocol.  Until recently, most X10 switches implemented just the large bright/dim steps, which take around 16 +/- steps to go from full dim to full brightness.  Then there are micro steps that take over 200 to go full range.  Then there is the Pre-Set Dim that directly specifies the brightness in 32 steps.  SmartHome implemented that in their own X10 compatible switches.  And finally there is the extended dim protocol, where you can set the brightness directly as a percentage.  Our Leviton switches support that protocol, and I understand the newer X10 dimmer switches also do.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

arizona480

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 50
Re: Difference Between WS and LM in the app
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2018, 07:58:42 PM »

When programming a Scene called "Movie" which calls for lower lighting, I wasn't able to get the led lamps and picture lights all on the same code to dim to an appropriate level until I changed to from LM (which all but one is) to WS, the larger range allowed me to get that perfect level.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.