Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Recovery From Factory Reset  (Read 541 times)

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Recovery From Factory Reset
« on: September 03, 2018, 02:14:49 PM »

This may or may not help all people,  but it saved me some headaches.

Yesterday, I pulled a factory reset on my phone and the WM100. Today when the server was back online, I opened the app on my tablet WHICH I DIDN'T RESET, set up the wifi to the WM100, and BEFORE I did anything else, went to the devices and resaved every one of them -- I have 32. Then I saved every room and scene.

I have about 6 rooms, 10 scenes, and almost every device has a timer or four.

It wasn't an easy recovery, but I didn't have to start from scratch.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

Knightrider

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 62
  • Posts: 1743
  • I love my WM100!
    • This Automated House
Re: Recovery From Factory Reset
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 02:32:12 PM »

More to the story. It's not enough to just save each room. You have to resave each device to each room. Timers will have to be resaved the same. Same with scenes.

Not cool.
Logged
Remote control is cool,

but automation rules!

arizona480

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 60
Re: Recovery From Factory Reset
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 03:54:35 PM »

Since I never connected to the hub in the first place with the server outage, I think I was ok with at least one device, I uninstalled and reinstalled the app on each device so the factory reset would not write to the hub.
Logged

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 172
Re: Recovery From Factory Reset
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2018, 04:38:43 PM »

We need to push hard for a backup function. This is nuts.
Logged

arizona480

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 60
Re: Recovery From Factory Reset
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2018, 11:07:54 PM »

So I ended up resetting both android devices after the server outage, but it looks like the Hub held the settings on one  because I got them back when I reconnected, but my second android device does not connect to the hub after snapping the QR code.  Any ideas on how I can get the second device?  Should I just cut my losses and order another unit or are there still some possible server issues preventing the second device from connecting?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9542
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Recovery From Factory Reset
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2018, 06:27:05 AM »

On the device that isn't connecting, uninstall the App then reinstall it and try to connected to an existing hub.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

arizona480

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 60
Re: Recovery From Factory Reset
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2018, 11:00:20 PM »

I was able to get it going yesterday morning, the difference perhaps was I got the QR code off the device itself instead of a picture of it , so maybe having to unplug it while it processed the QR code helped.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.