Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Details about the X10 PLC Protocol  (Read 1061 times)

rowan.bradley

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Details about the X10 PLC Protocol
« on: September 07, 2018, 01:48:26 PM »

I'm trying to fully understand the X10 Power Line Communications protocol prior to writing some software. Firstly I have been unable to find a full specification for this anywhere. Where can I find this? The main questions I have at this point are:
1. Can I address several units and then send commands to all of the addressed units? Exactly what sequence do I need to use to do this?
2. The information that I have seen tells me that successive Bright or Dim commands must be sent without any intervening quiet period. If I want to send 5 Dim commands to a device, what is the exact sequence for this?
3. What exactly should be the response to a Status Request command? What Letter Code should the device send?
4. How do I read back the value from a sensor, which may be 16 bits long? What command(s) do I send, and what does the device send back to me?

Thanks - Rowan
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 122
  • Posts: 2285
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Details about the X10 PLC Protocol
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2018, 02:03:59 PM »

That information can all be found by spending some time with Google.  Most is answered in the X10 Technical Note that is available at multiple locations, including our own website:  http://jvde.us/info/X10_protocol.pdf

To handle 16 bit data you will need to use extended codes.  There is another document for that, but it is not currently available on our website.

Quick answers:

1)  Yes, on the same housecode:  A1, A2, A3, A_ON
2)  The dim commands must be concatenated with no gap between if you want to slew to a different level.
3)  A1, A_Status Request -> A_Status_ON
4)  Extended commands (you will have to read and understand the document).

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2547
    • davehouston.org
Re: Details about the X10 PLC Protocol
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2018, 02:47:18 PM »

There's a PDF on my website that covers standard and extended codes.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston/X10 xtdcode.pdf
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No twees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
  • Posts: 13259
Re: Details about the X10 PLC Protocol
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2018, 06:31:41 PM »

Only a very few X10 modules are two way with a power line transmitter in them. So trying a Status Request on most modules will get no reply back.

LM14A, AM14A and the RR501 modules are the ones I can think of offhand.

Some of the Insteon Modules could also have an X10 Primary Address added to them. They where two way and will also respond to a Status Request or send a status change from the local control on the wall switches. One thing that is different. They used the %Dim commands and a Status Request would have a %Dim reply in the answer back.
Logged

rowan.bradley

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Details about the X10 PLC Protocol
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2018, 07:03:51 AM »

Thank you for those helpful replies. I had in fact already spent quite some time searching with Google, and I had already found the document TW523 Technical Note, but it seemed to me that this was more about using X10 via the TW523 than directly. I will read it again, and see whether it gives me the information that I need.

Thanks - Rowan
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.