Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: New DST problems  (Read 701 times)

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2764
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #30 on: October 03, 2018, 11:21:43 AM »

... We may have had a power failure.  Can't this thing store the time?

Nope. It has a real-time clock, but it isn't backed-up by battery. So when you unplug the unit (or you have a power failure), the clock resets. Not the smartest design (in my opinion) for a device that's supposed to run timers and such.
Logged

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 152
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #31 on: October 03, 2018, 12:30:29 PM »

I would have expected it to do an automatic re-sync with a device.  If it doesnít report the time, one has no way of knowing if a user-initiated sync is required. Brilliant.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8582
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #32 on: October 03, 2018, 01:11:23 PM »

I would have expected it to do an automatic re-sync with a device.  If it doesnít report the time, one has no way of knowing if a user-initiated sync is required. Brilliant.
It is suppose to do this (an automatic re-sync with a device) without notification however with the latest update that may have been broken B:( ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 152
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #33 on: October 03, 2018, 03:11:58 PM »

I would have expected it to do an automatic re-sync with a device.  If it doesnít report the time, one has no way of knowing if a user-initiated sync is required. Brilliant.
It is suppose to do this (an automatic re-sync with a device) without notification however with the latest update that may have been broken B:( ::) :'

How do we know if itís working or broken?   ;)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8582
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #34 on: October 03, 2018, 03:18:18 PM »

If it is broken youll get a notice to sync your time when the hub is off. If it is working youll get no notification.However I agree the app should display the Hubs current time on initially opening the app.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2764
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #35 on: October 03, 2018, 04:12:51 PM »

I would have expected it to do an automatic re-sync with a device.  If it doesnít report the time, one has no way of knowing if a user-initiated sync is required. Brilliant.
That still requires the app to be opened. So if you don't have the app open when power comes back on, you're out of luck. And if you're in another timezone (on vacation, for example), then a time sync would reset it to your *local* time, not the local time of the unit. Also a problem. Even without a clock battery, I would think the unit should be able to reach out to the Internet when it powers up, and pull the correct time for it's set location. But they didn't write the software that way. And they probably never will, unfortunately.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8582
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #36 on: October 03, 2018, 04:29:26 PM »

Authinx continues to try and get the developer to add code to sync time with the internet. However they keep being told the hardware wont allow that which I personaly think is B.S.
Authinx admits the lack of battery backup for the clock was an over sight. when I enquired about the clock maintaining time the factory told them that wouldnt be an issue.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5884
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #37 on: October 03, 2018, 05:45:48 PM »

when I enquired about the clock maintaining time the factory told them that wouldnt be an issue.
They probably meant it would not be an issue for them.  rofl
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 256
  • Posts: 8582
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #38 on: October 03, 2018, 06:18:07 PM »

 rofl I did press the issue but not hard enough :-[
They kept saying the apps would look after it. >*<
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

normd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 18
Re: New DST problems
« Reply #39 on: October 03, 2018, 09:51:46 PM »

How hard is to store the offset from GMT and reset it to that after a power failure?  I donít want it reset to any device because I might be in a different time zone than the controller. It doesnít matter in China where there is only one time zone for the whole country. Maybe time to return my unit.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.