Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: WM100 snooping  (Read 391 times)

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
WM100 snooping
« on: October 06, 2018, 09:39:22 PM »

I am assuming that the WM100 continuously watches for unit codes so that it can update its on/off table.  Is this correct?

I ask because I am trying to debug an exterior flood, connected to a wall switch, that just started coming on at random times.  When I see the light on, I check the WM100, and the random "on" status is never captured in the log.  However, when I turn ithe flood on/off from an app, or palmpad, or the wall switch itself, the WM100 captures the action correctly.

So it appears that there may be transmissions that the WM100 doesnít see,  but that doesnít make sense.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 200
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2018, 09:53:20 PM »

Assuming there's no motion detector on the flood lights what kind of bulbs and which model switch do you have?
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2018, 10:06:23 PM »

Assuming there's no motion detector on the flood lights what kind of bulbs and which model switch do you have?
WS467. No motion detection.  Two incandescent floods. Iíve had this switch installed for over 10 years, with no issues.  I have no problem if itís failing, but surprised that the WM is missing the ON command.  Weird!
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 105
  • Posts: 2013
    • XTB Home Page
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2018, 11:14:31 PM »

Iíve had this switch installed for over 10 years, with no issues.  I have no problem if itís failing, but surprised that the WM is missing the ON command.  Weird!

The ON command is missing because it is likely that powerline noise is causing the switch to turn on, not an actual X10 command.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 200
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2018, 12:53:48 AM »

I could be wrong but from long ago I seem to remember that failing bulbs could cause problems like this. Maybe a loose filament causing local control activation.  You might try a new pair and/or different brand of bulbs in that fixture to eliminate them from consideration.  Is the Housecode M?  Being all 0's that one is the most prone to false activity.  Any new phone chargers plugged in or other new electronics?
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2018, 07:40:36 AM »

I could be wrong but from long ago I seem to remember that failing bulbs could cause problems like this. Maybe a loose filament causing local control activation.  You might try a new pair and/or different brand of bulbs in that fixture to eliminate them from consideration.  Is the Housecode M?  Being all 0's that one is the most prone to false activity.  Any new phone chargers plugged in or other new electronics?
Arg...I figured that it was noise.  Iím constantly plugging in phones, etc., but nothing significant has changed in awhile.  As you all know, tracking down the culprit is a PITA. I did add the WM a few months ago, but Iím sure thatís not it.  I will change the bulbs and see what happens.

Thanks to all.

PS - the floods are "L6"
.
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 133
  • Posts: 5866
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2018, 05:13:07 PM »

I could be wrong but from long ago I seem to remember that failing bulbs could cause problems like this.
I have seen lose bulbs cause this also. I have had incandescent bulbs back their way out of a socket enough to flicker and turn ON.  But two lose bulbs seems like would be improbable, so I'll go back to sleep now.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2018, 06:22:54 PM »

I could be wrong but from long ago I seem to remember that failing bulbs could cause problems like this.
I have seen lose bulbs cause this also. I have had incandescent bulbs back their way out of a socket enough to flicker and turn ON.  But two lose bulbs seems like would be improbable, so I'll go back to sleep now.

Bulbs are tight.  Iíll swap them out.  I have a bunch of old incandescents from swapping in LEDs elsewhere.
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2018, 07:25:47 AM »

I could be wrong but from long ago I seem to remember that failing bulbs could cause problems like this.
I have seen lose bulbs cause this also. I have had incandescent bulbs back their way out of a socket enough to flicker and turn ON.  But two lose bulbs seems like would be improbable, so I'll go back to sleep now.


Bulbs are tight.  Iíll swap them out.  I have a bunch of old incandescents from swapping in LEDs elsewhere.

The lights behaved themselves since my last post, but I was having trouble using my palmpad to control them, so I swapped out the switch, and set it to another unit code just for yucks.  Some time between 10pm and 5am last night they turned on.  Nothing in the WM100 history.  I have had this setup for 20 + years with no issues. Now I will swap the bulbs...itís all thatís left to do, I guess.  Unless my PR511 is in a funk.
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2018, 09:36:10 AM »

I could be wrong but from long ago I seem to remember that failing bulbs could cause problems like this.
I have seen lose bulbs cause this also. I have had incandescent bulbs back their way out of a socket enough to flicker and turn ON.  But two lose bulbs seems like would be improbable, so I'll go back to sleep now.

New bulbs.  Weíll see.   However, I now think my PR is in a funk, unless the WM100 is being weird.  I turn on "L1" at dusk via my PR511.  At dawn, the WM sometimes captures "L1 off" and sometimes "L9 off"...difference of one bit.  Noise perhaps or....

Iím programmatically turning off L1 in the late evening, so it doesnít matter, but I wonder if the flakiness is contributing to my other issue.

Ahhhh, technology!


Bulbs are tight.  Iíll swap them out.  I have a bunch of old incandescents from swapping in LEDs elsewhere.

The lights behaved themselves since my last post, but I was having trouble using my palmpad to control them, so I swapped out the switch, and set it to another unit code just for yucks.  Some time between 10pm and 5am last night they turned on.  Nothing in the WM100 history.  I have had this setup for 20 + years with no issues. Now I will swap the bulbs...itís all thatís left to do, I guess.  Unless my PR511 is in a funk.
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 105
  • Posts: 2013
    • XTB Home Page
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2018, 10:00:38 AM »

New bulbs.  Weíll see.   However, I now think my PR is in a funk, unless the WM100 is being weird.  I turn on "L1" at dusk via my PR511.  At dawn, the WM sometimes captures "L1 off" and sometimes "L9 off"...difference of one bit.

I had a PR511 occasionally stop responding to its programmed code.  It was the common oxidized switch problem, so try spinning the code wheels a few times.  I eventually retired that PR511 because something shattered the motion detector lens in the windstorm that lifted a couple of concrete tiles off our roof.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2018, 10:24:38 AM »

New bulbs.  Weíll see.   However, I now think my PR is in a funk, unless the WM100 is being weird.  I turn on "L1" at dusk via my PR511.  At dawn, the WM sometimes captures "L1 off" and sometimes "L9 off"...difference of one bit.

I had a PR511 occasionally stop responding to its programmed code.  It was the common oxidized switch problem, so try spinning the code wheels a few times.  I eventually retired that PR511 because something shattered the motion detector lens in the windstorm that lifted a couple of concrete tiles off our roof.

Jeff

Thank you, sir.  I am on the case.  Itís mounted on a table side of the house, faces north, and is not protected from the weather.  I guess I should be happy that it lasted this long!
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2018, 01:27:35 PM »

New bulbs.  Weíll see.   However, I now think my PR is in a funk, unless the WM100 is being weird.  I turn on "L1" at dusk via my PR511.  At dawn, the WM sometimes captures "L1 off" and sometimes "L9 off"...difference of one bit.

I had a PR511 occasionally stop responding to its programmed code.  It was the common oxidized switch problem, so try spinning the code wheels a few times.  I eventually retired that PR511 because something shattered the motion detector lens in the windstorm that lifted a couple of concrete tiles off our roof.

Jeff

Thank you, sir.  I am on the case.  Itís mounted on a table side of the house, faces north, and is not protected from the weather.  I guess I should be happy that it lasted this long!

Gave the dials some good turns and exercised the switches.  All good for a couple of days, but they were back on this morning.  I just canít narrow down what might be doing it. One suspect is the dawn "lights off" action from the PR, because I donít see the floods on at night.   As I mentioned before, nothing in the WM log.

I may just deactivate the 467 via the slide switch, and move on to another crisis.

PR511 is L12, set to motion, with L1 and L2 on at dusk. L1 and L2 are turned off by WM100 later in the evening.  The dawn sequence on the PR effectively does nothing. The problem child is L11, which is not programmed or part of the PR dusk sequence.   I have tried other codes on the problem flood, and recently changed out the WS.
Logged

ceedee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 144
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2018, 06:19:11 PM »

Activation of  the WS467 switch "at the switch" is not recorded by the WM100. I don't see the action(s) in the log, and the "on/off" icon does not change color.

Iíve moved the WM100 all around; no change.  Iíve also tried three 467s. Same.

Iím punting.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 286
  • Posts: 12484
Re: WM100 snooping
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2018, 06:33:28 PM »

Like most X10 modules. The WS467 has a power line receiver in it and no power line transmitter.
So locally changing its state will not send any information back to the WM100 and it will not know you changed it.
So what you are seeing is correct.

Some of the Insteon modules that still can accept a Primary X10 Address in them. Will send information back onto the power lines that the WM100 or other X10 controller like the CM15A may see.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 06:37:24 PM by Brian H »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.