Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time  (Read 378 times)

Dave Mc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 24
WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« on: November 04, 2018, 09:56:45 AM »

My Dawn Timer fired an hour early today due to the time change from daylight to standard time.  When I opened the WM100 app it gave a warning that there was a difference between the app time and hub time and asked if I want to re-sync the time.  I pressed yes and should be good to go.
Logged

nelson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 22
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2018, 02:23:11 PM »

My Dawn Timer fired an hour early today due to the time change from daylight to standard time.  When I opened the WM100 app it gave a warning that there was a difference between the app time and hub time and asked if I want to re-sync the time.  I pressed yes and should be good to go.

Thanks for the heads-up.
Logged

SkipWX10

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 76
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2018, 08:03:58 PM »

I had the same when I first opened the app today...call me crazy, but it seems this should be pretty simple to write into the unit, seeing as my CM15a handled it like a champ....but then the WM100 needs to be synced after a power outage, so I guess I expect too much.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2018, 07:36:43 AM »

I'm less impressed very day by the developers skills  and this app . I never got a notification my apps time was out of sync so I clicked on sunc time and after I did the sync I got a out of sync message. Comparing time they were exactly 1 hour off. >*<
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1026
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2018, 09:19:53 AM »

Does the WM100 possess an RTC.

I would have presumed the WM100 would poll the servers on a regular basis so the need to manually resync timers seems a little odd.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2799
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2018, 09:21:14 AM »

I'm less impressed very day by the developers skills  and this app . I never got a notification my apps time was out of sync so I clicked on sunc time and after I did the sync I got a out of sync message. Comparing time they were exactly 1 hour off. >*<

Yet another reason to abandon the WM100, unfortunately. It seems that the unit cannot be relied upon for much. It is a glorified remote - when the server is up and running.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2799
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2018, 09:22:54 AM »

Does the WM100 possess an RTC.

I would have presumed the WM100 would poll the servers on a regular basis so the need to manually resync timers seems a little odd.
It can maintain the time once set - as long as it has power. It does not have a battery-backed RTC, nor can it pull time from the Internet. It can *only* sync time to a device running the app, and only then it is a manually-triggered procedure.
Logged

m82a1pa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 73
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2018, 10:23:57 AM »

I guess they should have added auto time resync to the firmware.  I've got nixie clocks that change time on DST.  Even my PC's do that when powered up.
Logged

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1026
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2018, 10:26:59 AM »

Does the WM100 possess an RTC.

I would have presumed the WM100 would poll the servers on a regular basis so the need to manually resync timers seems a little odd.
It can maintain the time once set - as long as it has power. It does not have a battery-backed RTC, nor can it pull time from the Internet. It can *only* sync time to a device running the app, and only then it is a manually-triggered procedure.

Sounds like its easier to tell us what it can do rather than what it can't do. The list would would be far shorter.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9394
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: WM100 needs time re-sync after change to Standard Time
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2018, 11:30:58 AM »

 rofl  at this stage of the game the advertised options should be working but there not.  ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.