Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10  (Read 384 times)

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6977
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2020, 08:11:08 PM »

If upnp is enabled disable it. If you still have errors disable x10 to see if that stops the errors.  It is possible your cm19 is faulty. I did test my 3b* with a cm19 and had no issues however to get the most out of HG I'd recommend a cm15.

I originally tried setting up with a Cm19. But when I wasn't having any luck with the HA Bridge populating, I switched to a CM15A. I don't think that was my problem. But the CM15A did seem better suited for HG.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 269
  • Posts: 9849
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2020, 07:13:32 AM »

It is possible your cm19 is faulty. I did test my 3b* with a cm19 and had no issues however to get the most out of HG I'd recommend a cm15.
  What is the amp. rating for your Pi power supply? Mine is 2.5 amps. I have just ordered a 3 amp, just in case.
I use the official power supply for the 3b+ however I do still have under voltage conditions even with running just the lite OS (no GUI).
These are evident if you connect a monitor and keyboard to the pi.
You will actually get an under voltage message and possibly even a yellow lightening bolt in the top right corner of the monitor.
Interestingly this condition doesn't stop HG from being able to use my cm19 nor do I get mono crash logs. ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 1417
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2020, 03:43:07 PM »

If the OP wants to increase the power available to USB ports itís just a simple case of adding max_usb_current=1 to the config file. Itís that simple. The problem here lies deeper though and is probably down to those awful PSUís bundled with the starter packs. Cheap regulators usually cause low voltage drops which equals a reboot sequence to a Raspberry Pi and toasted SD cards. A warning on playing around with the config file. Make sure you know what youíre doing.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 269
  • Posts: 9849
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2020, 04:37:17 PM »

In my case the under voltage isn't the power supply but the board itself or the power port. I've used several different PS  with no changes and not attempted to run power directly to the board yet. In my case that may be the only solution.  As my PSU is not one bundled with a starter pack nor the others I tested I can't  believe all were/are bad. I only posted away to test for the under voltage condition not a fix as I've not found one for my Pi3B+.
 
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 1417
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2020, 05:41:10 PM »

In my case the under voltage isn't the power supply but the board itself or the power port. I've used several different PS  with no changes and not attempted to run power directly to the board yet. In my case that may be the only solution.  As my PSU is not one bundled with a starter pack nor the others I tested I can't  believe all were/are bad. I only posted away to test for the under voltage condition not a fix as I've not found one for my Pi3B+.

Theyíre so cheap I wouldnít waste time trying to fix it. Just replace it. I must admit since buying the Pi 1 back in 2012 Iíve yet to have one go bad. Donít do fried Raspberry Pi here. Donít like the smell of it  rofl
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 269
  • Posts: 9849
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2020, 06:17:12 PM »

 rofl I don't imagine I'd like fried pi either. Thats the main reason Ive not tried the direct connect method.
My Pi 3B+ has been desigated as a test pi and will remain that way untill one of my zerro w boards no longer does its job. Still I may just get another newer model.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Moose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2020, 06:04:58 AM »

So, I ended up buying 4 power supply units. One had the USB C connector used on the Rasp PI 4.  >*< The other 3, two 3 amp and one 2.5 amp. ::), all performed the same. I even removed the bluetooth dongle for the keyboard and the HDMI monitor, again with no improvement.

Logged

Moose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2020, 06:25:01 AM »

If the OP wants to increase the power available to USB ports itís just a simple case of adding max_usb_current=1 to the config file. Itís that simple.

I looked into this. I wonder if this was configurable only on the older PI's because that parameter is not commented out in the config.txt file?  Anyway, I did add it in and rebooted, but it made no difference. So, I guess I will have to order a CM15A.  -:) :'

I will just mention again that the CM19A does work when used with AHP on my desktop. I did notice that when asserted from AHP, the "on" signal is about 5 sec. long.
Logged

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 1417
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2020, 06:25:49 AM »

So, I ended up buying 4 power supply units. One had the USB C connector used on the Rasp PI 4.  >*< The other 3, two 3 amp and one 2.5 amp. ::), all performed the same. I even removed the bluetooth dongle for the keyboard and the HDMI monitor, again with no improvement.

Can you outline exactly what setup hardware wise you are using. My suggested setup would be

Raspberry Pi 3b or 3b+
Power supply 2.5ah or greater
CM19
Reliable Class 10 micro SD card 16gb or greater.

Nothing else attached to the USB ports.

Do you know how to image an SD card with the latest version of Raspbian Buster that will boot with WiFi enabled and SSH access.

For HG software setup if you want to send me a PM I can provide you with a simple list of copy/paste instructions. This setup will successfully load the CM19 driver. I tested the installation on Monday:
Logged

Moose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2020, 06:39:30 AM »

So, I ended up buying 4 power supply units. One had the USB C connector used on the Rasp PI 4.  >*< The other 3, two 3 amp and one 2.5 amp. ::), all performed the same. I even removed the bluetooth dongle for the keyboard and the HDMI monitor, again with no improvement.

Can you outline exactly what setup hardware wise you are using. My suggested setup would be

Raspberry Pi 3b or 3b+
Power supply 2.5ah or greater
CM19
Reliable Class 10 micro SD card 16gb or greater.

Nothing else attached to the USB ports.

Do you know how to image an SD card with the latest version of Raspbian Buster that will boot with WiFi enabled and SSH access.

For HG software setup if you want to send me a PM I can provide you with a simple list of copy/paste instructions. This setup will successfully load the CM19 driver. I tested the installation on Monday:

I have everything configured as above, and it still does not work. I have PM'd you.
Logged

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 1417
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #25 on: February 20, 2020, 09:04:20 AM »

I'm getting your PMs. Could you stay on PM and just confirm the questions
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.