Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: HomeGenie and Alexa  (Read 357 times)

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1088
HomeGenie and Alexa
« on: November 07, 2018, 04:21:17 PM »

For those curious to know how HG is setup with the HA Bridge to exploit Alexa take a look at the video. There's a lot more how to videos on HG on YouTube https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=kob2IED4gPI
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9456
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: HomeGenie and Alexa
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2018, 01:57:42 PM »

Nice video explaining how to setup HA-Bridge to work with HG and Alexa.
Although the version of HA-Bridge in the video has a different look then the current Bridge the Password setup is what most users will need to pay attention to.
The HTTP Headers are now located hidden under the Legacy Fields.
 >!
« Last Edit: November 28, 2018, 01:59:39 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: HomeGenie and Alexa
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 12:47:47 PM »

I am using HG with the HGEcho bridge and a cm11a interface. HG dims a device from a GUI widget just fine. I can also dim the device from a browser with:

http://192.168.1.8:8080/api/HomeAutomation.X10/B16/Control.Level/50

However these voice commands do not work:

"Alexa, desk Lamp Control level 50"
"Alexa, desk Lamp Dim level 50"
"Alexa, desk Lamp Dim 50 "
"Alexa, desk Lamp Dim 50 %"
"Alexa, desk Lamp 50"
"Alexa, desk Lamp level 50"

It appears that the HGEB does not send out the command that works although the GUI does. How do I fix that?
Thanks!
Logged

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1088
Re: HomeGenie and Alexa
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 08:24:27 PM »

I am using HG with the HGEcho bridge and a cm11a interface. HG dims a device from a GUI widget just fine. I can also dim the device from a browser with:

http://192.168.1.8:8080/api/HomeAutomation.X10/B16/Control.Level/50

However these voice commands do not work:

"Alexa, desk Lamp Control level 50"
"Alexa, desk Lamp Dim level 50"
"Alexa, desk Lamp Dim 50 "
"Alexa, desk Lamp Dim 50 %"
"Alexa, desk Lamp 50"
"Alexa, desk Lamp level 50"

It appears that the HGEB does not send out the command that works although the GUI does. How do I fix that?
Thanks!

Patience my friend. Digging into the code to see if there's a solution. I'm looking at the automation defined in the Dim module in the Groups section.
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: HomeGenie and Alexa
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2019, 06:49:43 AM »

Thanks for all the help! >!
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.