Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk  (Read 147 times)

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 155
No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« on: December 09, 2018, 10:39:40 AM »

I want a lamp module to come on at dusk @70%. No setting for that. There is a setting in the "timer" feature.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 258
  • Posts: 9074
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 11:29:23 AM »

This is not a bug! The developer just hasn't added it like many other options users want.
Many of us have filed our WM100s and its apps tired of waiting on needed features and moved on to other options for our X10 control.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 155
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2018, 01:00:55 PM »

I hear ya.  Iíd go the Pi route, but I donít have a CM, and I donít want to make the investment at this time.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 258
  • Posts: 9074
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2018, 01:48:04 PM »

Understood. It is too bad we don't have support for the $17 CM19 as yet but I'm told it will be there by Christmas of this year.
I don't expect the CM19/PAT03 Pi route will be popular anyways but I've been wrong before.

Saddly users expecting the WM100 and its apps to develop any quicker, then they are out of luck.
You will not see any future development for it till the manufacture needs more cash as I doubt Authinx will order anymore from them till they and the developer step up to the plate.  :(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1017
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2018, 04:47:49 PM »

I hear ya.  Iíd go the Pi route, but I donít have a CM, and I donít want to make the investment at this time.

Might be worth returning the WM100 for a full refund and investing in a CM. At least you'll know you'll get the attention you deserve rather than being passed over to 3rd party support in the form of the X10 Forum and the manufacturer washing their hands of the whole affair.
Logged

ceedee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 155
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2018, 08:51:24 PM »

Iíd need a PC. Iíd need to find the SW. Iíd need to find time I donít have.

I am thinking of returning it and investing in cheap WiFi switches and bulbs.  I can buy lots of them for what Iíd pay for a CM and a Pi.
 B:(
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 18
  • Posts: 395
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2018, 08:56:51 PM »

You can usually a CM15A on ebay for under $50, a Pi with everything you need for under $30 and the SW image right here. Less than the WM100.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 258
  • Posts: 9074
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: No brightness setting in dawn/dusk
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2018, 09:21:40 PM »

You can usually a CM15A on ebay for under $50, a Pi with everything you need for under $30 and the SW image right here. Less than the WM100.
you can get a cm11 for under $20 on ebay and it will work with that.
A PC, Mac or laptop is only required for initial setup.
As for time it could have been setup in the time you've taken on this thread. However wi-fi bulbs and switches may be the better solution since you can get them so cheap. ;) I just hope the developer that created the apps for them isn't the same one working on the WM100. rofl
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.