Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System  (Read 608 times)

breese

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« on: December 10, 2018, 01:36:25 PM »

I have a new out building for hobbies that has a separate power source from the house.
The X10 system is located in the house.
Is there a way to extend the X10 (transceiver or something) from the house to the out building?
I am trying to keep everything running from a single system.

Thanks
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6890
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 01:45:43 PM »

has a separate power source

What does that mean exactly? A separate meter? Solar power? a single 120V line running from your home? Do the two structures share a transformer? Is this a city installation or rural?
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9540
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 01:55:04 PM »

I have a new out building for hobbies that has a separate power source from the house.
The X10 system is located in the house.
Is there a way to extend the X10 (transceiver or something) from the house to the out building?
I am trying to keep everything running from a single system.

Thanks
How far is the out building from your current x10 controller and what controller are you currently using?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 107
  • Posts: 2065
    • XTB Home Page
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2018, 02:52:03 PM »

Does the outbuilding share the same utility transformer?  If so, you can probably do what you want by installing the long-run XTB-IIR+ at the main panel in your home.  I know one of our customers is controlling X10 devices in two homes that share the same utility transformer.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

breese

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2018, 06:20:45 AM »

Cm15a
Suburb of Chicago. The buildings do share the same transformer.
When testing, I could not get a lamp module to turn on in the out building, that is why I turned to this site and am asking....

Tuiceman,
What happened to your web site?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12729
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2018, 06:23:49 AM »

Is there a passive X10 coupler or X10 coupler repeater between your two Lines?
If so do you know the model number?

Logged

breese

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2018, 06:27:54 AM »

Is there a passive X10 coupler or X10 coupler repeater between your two Lines?
If so do you know the model number?

No and do not know what they are....
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9540
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2018, 07:13:37 AM »

Tuiceman,
What happened to your web site?
The web site is still around as is the domain the files just are in a mess with a package transfer I hope to get at repairing things after Christmas.
The forum address was transferred to http://forums.tuicemen.net/index.php early last year and links to the old address redirected to it.
.com is off line right now.


It is possible to use a RF repeater to your out building if the distance isn't to great I get over 200 ft at my off grid place
« Last Edit: December 11, 2018, 07:32:03 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 92
  • Posts: 552
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2018, 10:27:04 AM »

Is there a passive X10 coupler or X10 coupler repeater between your two Lines?
If so do you know the model number?

No and do not know what they are....

This will explain it well: http://jvde.us/x10/x10_couplers.pdf
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6890
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2018, 10:27:25 AM »

….. Is there a way to extend the X10 (transceiver or something) from the house to the out building?

Cm15a...
...When testing, I could not get a lamp module to turn on in the out building, that is why I turned to this site and am asking....

Since you're now testing... with positive results... it would appear that your new out-building is wired with either one 120v leg... or maybe a 240v off-shoot from your home breaker box. So... I'd do a little additional testing.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

breese

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2018, 10:47:50 AM »

A coupler is not going to fix the issue.
I think this is more of a distance problem.
The house 240V lines are 100' to the pole
The out house 240V lines are 75' to the pole.

As I said, I have tried a few lamp modules in the new building and the system in the house does not turn them on.

Is there a wireless extender for the Cm15a or some type of receiver that will take the CM15a transmissions and send them thru the new building?
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 92
  • Posts: 552
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2018, 10:55:33 AM »

The XTB-IIR+ should do the job as well as solve any signal issues in your home. 
From the jvde.us site:
"The XTB-IIR+ is a special order higher output version of the XTB-IIR that is built on the XTB-III PCB. It has the beefier XTB-III power supply, but runs the standard XTB-IIR firmware. Two versions are available: one optimized for long wire runs in a very large home or to other buildings..."
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6890
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2018, 11:11:06 AM »

The house 240V lines are 100' to the pole
The out house 240V lines are 75' to the pole.
As I said, I have tried a few lamp modules in the new building and the system in the house does not turn them on.

OK so you are using two separate meters and breaker boxes. I am sorry... I misunderstood.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 266
  • Posts: 9540
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2018, 11:56:57 AM »

A RF Repeater https://www.x10.com/x10-pro/specialty-devices/sr751.html in  your house and a pat03 https://www.x10.com/x10-pro/modules/pat03.html in your out building may do the trick if the two units aren't to far apart.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

breese

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Multiple Buildings - Single X10 System
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2018, 01:20:41 PM »


Thank you!
I think this is exactly what I need...
I will report back my findings once I get them
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.