Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial  (Read 1038 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 263
  • Posts: 9328
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« on: December 22, 2018, 09:25:04 AM »

Discussion about the tutorial can be posted here. ;)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 160
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2018, 01:15:02 PM »

I have been playing around with Home Genie and waiting for my Pi to arrive - I got an email this morning with an updated delivery date of later this week.  Since I had some time this morning I figured I'd try getting the image onto an SD card so I would be be ready to go.

I have a USB drive attached to my desktop - that had the Drive letter of K.  I also have slots in my desktop that accept a variety of SD cards - one being a Micro SD slot, which is Drive letter J.

I inserted the Micro SD card and proceeded with Win32 Disk Imager to get the downloaded (and extracted iso) image onto the SD card.

I was getting errors after clicking the write footer button about accessing the device.

I had to disconnect the drive I had on drive letter K, reboot my machine and then it was good to go.  Not sure if anyone else has this type of setup or not, but figured it couldn't hurt to post it in case someone else ran into it.
Logged

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 160
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2018, 01:20:24 PM »

As part of the equipment needed, it was recommended to get 2 Micro SD cards.  I have 2- one I just got the iso image installed on.  What do I do with the other one?  Is it it intended to be a backup image (so I should also put a copy of the image on the second one, and then store it away?)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 263
  • Posts: 9328
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2018, 01:24:25 PM »

The second SD card is for a backup just in case things go south.
you can either wait till the first is all loaded then copy it(which is the best option) or write it now and place the backups on it once the other is all configured.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 237
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2018, 07:02:31 AM »

Is it possible to change SSID and password on SD CARD after it has been installed in Pi zero w ?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 263
  • Posts: 9328
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2018, 12:30:42 PM »

Yes. There are a few ways.

This is just another good reason to have a backup SD card on hand as you can just do option #2 to it and replace the SD card

 1: If you can still ssh in, once logged in type sudo raspi-config.
You can also safe power down & remove the card and add an empty file called FirstRun then place it in your pi and power back up.
2: If for some reason your router info has changed and you can no longer gain access you can power down the pi by pulling the plug and hoping you don't corrupt the card then add a blank ssh file and a wpa_supplicant.conf file. This file requires the following info :
Code: [Select]
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
country=US

network={
     ssid="Your network name/SSID"
     psk="Your WPA/WPA2 security key"
     key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
}

3:Still another option is to connect a HDMI cable to a monitor and plug in a keyboard to where the Cm15 is connected,  reboot if you have no display and once every thing is loaded, type sudo raspi-config


In both cases 1 & 3 you'll need to add your new info in the "network options" (#2).
If you did the second option since you added your new network info in the wpa-supplicant.config file your ready to go once powered back up
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

IPS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 237
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2018, 03:33:41 PM »

Thanks for the info. I was thinking about changing network to see if that would better Alexa response. I do have 3 backup SD cards. so I can now I can try. Like I said I don't know coding but am trying.
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2018, 07:06:22 PM »

What's the latest version of HG available via the update link in HG?
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2018, 07:08:35 PM »

....That runs on the Pix10 hub that is?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 263
  • Posts: 9328
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2018, 07:13:02 PM »

All versions should work with the PiX10Hub release 1.1! I currently am running HG 1.2-stable.28
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2018, 07:17:33 PM »

So you see my cm19 issue also?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 263
  • Posts: 9328
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2018, 07:38:19 PM »

Occasionally yes, but I currently don't believe it is a software issue as much as a location of the cm19 and maybe other factors.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2018, 07:43:40 PM »

This is not a hardware issue!
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2018, 07:45:57 PM »

The reliability of cm19a with Alex10 in my setup demonstrates that.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 263
  • Posts: 9328
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: PiX10Hub setup Tutorial
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2018, 08:32:18 PM »

This is not a hardware issue!
Actually It may well be a Zero W issue which would make it a hardware issue! The Hub was designed for the CM15 which is self powered the CM19 requires power from the ZeroW and if the power supply for it isn't supplying enough power that would explain the issue with sending RF. However it is possible the Zero just can't handle the dual software plus the added power requirements of the CM19.

Remember when your comparing Alex10 and the PiX10Hub software your comparing different OSes, drivers and power delivered to the USB not just software.
If you wish to compare software compare software that runs on the same setup for example use ha-bridge with mochad on your Zero W and see what results you get with it.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.