Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!  (Read 1200 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9435
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« on: December 23, 2018, 09:25:05 AM »

I've been bomb barded with questions on everything from general PiX10Hub enquiries to complicated HG setups since and prior to the PiX10Hub release.
Some of these questions have been duplicated multi times so end users would result in any answer I may have.
I'm also not a HA-Bridge, HomeGenie or Pi expert and even if I were I don't have time to answer all these repeated questions.
The forum is for posting questions and answers so everyone benefits.

Please don't PM me about the PiX10Hub and use the forum no question is a stupid one!
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1063
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2018, 10:00:27 AM »

Like wise here.

I don't have the ultimate recipie for the perfect steak dinner either  rofl

On topic is the keyword here. Maybe the Pi X10 hub will bring you to a parallel universe but even I haven't figured that one out yet.

PMs from the original contributors by all means but everything else on the forum please.

This is not a 24/7 paid support service so please bear that in mind too.
Logged

LostDog88

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 136
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2019, 06:55:37 PM »

Like wise here.

I don't have the ultimate recipie for the perfect steak dinner either  rofl

On topic is the keyword here. Maybe the Pi X10 hub will bring you to a parallel universe but even I haven't figured that one out yet.

PMs from the original contributors by all means but everything else on the forum please.

This is not a 24/7 paid support service so please bear that in mind too.

As a bonafide fat boy from the south. I can give you that perfect steak recipe!!  rofl rofl rofl rofl :) :) :P :P
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 914
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2019, 10:27:49 AM »

I hate to bother you tuicemen, but my image download of version 1.1 failed at 700mb.  OK, I will install a download mgr so I can recover next time.  But it seems your version 1.2 might be better for me to download instead of version 1.1 due to your adding some arm/disarm something to it - I would like to see that.

So before I try again on a slow download here, can you revive the link (does not work) to the 1.2 version  mentioned here:

http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=30714.msg179067#msg179067

Thank you.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9435
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2019, 09:12:37 AM »

Done.
 me and my fat fingers  >*<
 >!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Kamextemy

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2019, 08:14:24 AM »

I am, admittedly, too technically challenged to know much else, but I do know that the forum has been crashing with fair regularity recently. Never for long, but often.
Logged

edjal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 82
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2019, 12:19:16 PM »

 I had given up for a few weeks on HG but today I tried the SSH install. Before SSH install I successfully installed the image to the SD and inserted into Pi
1. I plugged CM15 into AC power
2. I plugged the  pi into CM15 using USB adaptor
3  plugged pi to AC power
4 Opened Putty on my PC

nothing appears in Putty.   How is the CM15 and Pi communicating to my PC??? It does not appear that it is.
 
Logged

edjal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 82
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2019, 01:05:02 PM »

 Correction the putty screen shows but I saved a name and opened it and nothing changes or opens.    Edjal
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9435
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2019, 04:52:34 PM »

You must configure your pi ip address in putty
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

edjal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 82
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2019, 06:43:06 PM »

Thank you for your reply I don't know what pi address  is so I tried following instructions to retrieve it (type name in saved putty session click save then open) and I get no response.  I just don't know what I am doing wrong and need more help.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9435
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2019, 07:32:05 AM »

I never had any luck with putty using the pi host name.
Use a free network scanner app to find the Rpi IP. I use Network Scanner by First Row on my Android phone.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

edjal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 82
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2019, 10:29:45 AM »

 Mr tuicemen I really do appreciate you taking time to help me along with many others. I used my xfinity system to track device ip address and it was named X10Hub so I copied it for naming purposes  and I copy and pasted ip address  to  putty saved then opened and it is reporting network not available.  in a black screen. There is also a mac address being reported by xfinity, not sure if mac address means anything? Do you have any idea as to what is happening?    Edjal
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 914
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2019, 11:21:42 AM »

Maybe a different person explaining in different words might help?  So here...

open putty. 

type in the IP address you found into "Host name (or IP address)" box - should look similar to this: 192.168.1.123

leave "Port" as default 22

Make sure "SSH" ispicked instead of Raw,Telnet,Rlogin, or serial

Click "Open" at bottom of Putty window... 

Black terminal window will open, and in about 1-2 seconds your PI is be found and respond with "Login as:"

Now you type in your username.  If accepted, it will come back and ask for password:  NOTE - whenyou type the password IT WILL NOT SHOW, so just have faith, type it, and press enter.  If it takes, you will see Pi menu.
Logged

edjal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 82
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2019, 02:33:52 PM »

 Thank You so much It worked great. I have also copy and pasted all the info into the terminal that Mr Tuicemen had posted for newbies now I'm trying to open Hg but there is no desktop Pi os for me to open in the taskbar. Still need more help please
Logged

mike

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 914
Re: Please Use the forum for questions on the PiX10Hub!
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2019, 03:08:41 PM »

We have been there!  Great you moved on!

You now open HomeGenie(hg) by using your browser (of choice - works with all of em)...

- Open browser
- in address bar, instead of typing google or yahoo or msn or anything, simply type the IP address - JUST LIKE YOU TYPED IT INTO PUTTY LINE...
- If that does not open hg for you, type the same IP with :8080 behind it...

If you used Tuicemen's great image, when you went in with putty you had a menu of things to check/change.  When you finished doing those things you could or should push <Finish> (remember your mouse does not work in putty - you have to use arrow keys and tab button to get around).

Once you do that, Tuicemen graciously wrote your pi IP address as well as which "port" HG is on...   that is the 8080 above.  See, computers ASSUME it is port 80 - so if you type just your IP address into browser and it is NOT port 80, then you MUST tell it which port to use.

So like this again in browser:      192.168.1.123:8080

THEN you will be cookin' with gas!  Enjoy the nice hg interface you will see!


Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.