Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)  (Read 980 times)

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 526
Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« on: December 29, 2018, 01:10:52 PM »

AlexaPiHub is great but lacks the elegance of Alex10 which makes setup and management of devices easy for anyone.  I've been thinking  -:) , what if I could run Alex10 on a PiZW? There is a reasonably priced (on sale for $10.46 now) Pi program called ExaGear that runs Windows programs under WINE.  I've got a spare Pi here and there's a free 3 day trial for ExaGear.  Any thoughts on this?
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 01:15:48 PM »

Might be worth a try! Think it would work with a cm19a?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 01:21:51 PM »

This may work, Alex10 uses the AHP SDK other have been able to run AHP under wine so it is worth a shot. However a pi zeroW may be short on the cpu power to run wine and everytnig Alex10 requires.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 526
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2018, 01:31:21 PM »

Yes, Alex10 works with a CM19a perfectly.  Before I moved it to the PiAlexaHub I ran Alex10 with the CM19a on an old Sony laptop that was so anemic it couldn't even keep up with my slow typing. Here's my AlexaPiHub photo, I haven't touched it in almost 3 months.


Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 526
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2018, 01:39:49 PM »

This may work, Alex10 uses the AHP SDK other have been able to run AHP under wine so it is worth a shot. However a pi zeroW may be short on the cpu power to run wine and everything Alex10 requires.
I might give it try today or tomorrow. If it at least works slowly as a proof of concept on the PiZW then I could always get a more powerful (tastier?) Pi.  I'd be testing it with a CM15 as I don't have a 19 here.
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2018, 02:02:22 PM »

brobin,

What pI you using in your AlexaPi Hub?
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 526
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2018, 04:15:02 PM »

Using the Pi Zero W as shown above sporting a Zebra Zero 'sandwich' case. https://goo.gl/Pr2PjN
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2018, 04:17:55 PM »

I would like a Alex10Pi Hub . Do I have to be a linux expert to creat the image or could you talk me thru it?
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 526
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2018, 05:27:27 PM »

Prior to setting this up I had never touched a Pi or linux. Trust me, if I could do it so can you.  That said, I think the ever prolific Mr. T is considering creating an Alexa only version of the Pi hub image if there's some interest.

Even if he doesn't, the script he created is still on his website and can be added manually.  http://forums.tuicemen.net/index.php?topic=1310.0  You'll need a Pi Zero W, power supply (a 5v 2.1a cellphone charger will do), a 4GB or larger Micro SD card and an OTG adapter (it's just an adapter to convert the CM19's USB connector to micro USB).  The only other thing you'll need is a card reader so you can set things up on the Micro SD card.

To install Raspbian Stretch w/Desktop I highly recommend this page:
https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/getting-started-with-the-raspberry-pi-zero-wireless/all

There's a lot of good info worth reading but you'll want to scroll down to Install the OS Option 2.

Follow the instructions to d/l the .zip file to your PC - you don't have to unzip it.
Install Etcher from the link shown and run it.
Plug the Micro Sd card (reader) into your PC.
Select the zip file, select the drive, select Flash.
Get a cup of coffee and wait.
When it's done put the Micro Sd card in the Pi and power up.

Follow the rest of the instructions to set things up and then you'll be able to enter the script. You should be able to browse to and copy the script and then paste it into the terminal command line.  It's not difficult and we can walk you through it.




Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2018, 06:35:35 PM »

brobin,

Thanks for the info.  Let me study it a bit to see if my Linux-adverse brain melts or not. I have done a system install before on a Pi or 2 so it should be possible. And even a little "Sudo" ing. Right now I need my Pi Z to do some testing of my Pix10Hub install.
Logged

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2018, 09:23:06 AM »

Tuicemens's link says script no longer available. Did I miss something somewhere B:(?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2018, 11:11:18 AM »

Tuicemens's link says script no longer available. Did I miss something somewhere B:(?
Nope, there was little to no interest in this so I didn't bother to save it.
I had thought about creating a downloadable image simular to the PiX10Hub, as this would be more a plug and play route suited to newbies. However this is low on my todo list and without much interest it likely will stay that way :(
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2018, 11:15:36 AM »

Brobin,
Do u have a copy of the script? Can u post it? or PM it to me. -:)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9413
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2018, 11:27:53 AM »

Brobin,
Do u have a copy of the script? Can u post it? or PM it to me. -:)
the script will not work as there are down loads from my site that are used and these no longer exist.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

alzy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 5
  • Posts: 355
Re: Re: Alex10 (x10 control with Amazon echo, dot or tap)
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2018, 11:50:39 AM »

Maybe a generic copy of his sd card? How can I clone his setup?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.