Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: CM15A/AHP unreliable timer  (Read 272 times)

jagMan653

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 35
CM15A/AHP unreliable timer
« on: January 19, 2019, 01:48:52 PM »

I have timers on several modules that work reliably, but a couple that don't. The problematical modules go on and off reliably when controlled from AHP, or from an SS13A or RT 504. However, the AHP timers for these modules will often turn them on, but not off. And occasionally they won't turn on.

Backgrond:
The two problematical modules are a PA011 Receptacle and  a AM466 3-pin appliance module.  Each powers a power supply for low voltage outside lighting. The  setup worked well for about 3 years. Then the the X10 system in general began to have reliability issues, most likely due to added electronics around the house, including security camaras and
 DVR. To address these issues, I installed a XTB-IIR booster/phase coupler which helped a lot, but then I began to notice the subject AHP issue.
Note that I already have an RR501 connected to the XTB-IIR, a TM751 in the laundry that served as the only RF transmitter for years, and a recently added RT504 in the living room.

What's the most likely cause? An AHP bug? RF issues?

BTW, could someone clarify what the CM15A actually does? That is, does it ONLY transmit RF signals, or does is also inject X10 signals into the house circuit?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12639
Re: CM15A/AHP unreliable timer
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2019, 02:02:06 PM »

The TM751 is not an X10 RF transmitter. It is a tranceiver like the RR501. So it is not a transmitter but another X10 RF to power line module. The TM751 is also not polite and if it receives an X10 RF transmission and will step on X10 power line commands.

You may have too many transceivers in the setup. Especially the TM751.

The CM15A has both a power line receiver and transmitter. Along with an X10 RF transmitter and receiver in it. Unless you set the Transceived House Codes in AHP to none. It will also transceive X10 RF signals just like the RR501 does.

It maybe possible the low voltage transformers are starting to make more power line interference.

If the CM15A is plugged in to the same circuit as the computing equipment, output side of an UPS, filtered surge strip. That can effect the CM15As power line getting back onto the power lines.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2019, 02:06:00 PM by Brian H »
Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 106
  • Posts: 2057
    • XTB Home Page
Re: CM15A/AHP unreliable timer
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2019, 02:26:43 PM »

However, the AHP timers for these modules will often turn them on, but not off. And occasionally they won't turn on.

X10 modules that respond to X10 ON commands, but ignore OFF commands are usually controlling devices that inject noise onto the powerline when on.  A noise generating device can also prevent other X10 devices on the same circuit from responding to any commands.  Prime candidates are small plug-in power modules, and CFL or LED lights. 

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

jagMan653

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 35
Re: CM15A/AHP unreliable timer
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2019, 12:48:51 PM »

Brian, Jeff,

Thanks for the clarifications. I had been thinking more transceivers was better. I put the TM751 and theRR501 on the shelf. Also removed a XPFF filter I had been moving from place to place. No the system seems be working. For the last couple days it has switched both yard lights power supplies on and off twice a day.

Jeff, I also played around a bit with the XTBM. The signal strength differences among several outlets were astounding. At the outlet where the UPS for my security camera DVR system plugs shows 0.35, whereas at the outlet used for the yard lights power supplies shows 10 times that. These outlets are in the same circuit.

Upshot is things seem to be OK.

Ed

Logged

JeffVolp

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 106
  • Posts: 2057
    • XTB Home Page
Re: CM15A/AHP unreliable timer
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2019, 01:13:26 PM »

The signal strength differences among several outlets were astounding.

Some UPS have a capacitor directly across the AC input for a line filter, and that can seriously attenuate X10 signals.

Jeff
Logged
X-10 automation since the BSR days

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12639
Re: CM15A/AHP unreliable timer
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2019, 06:07:16 PM »

I have my APC UPS on a 10 Amp Smarthome FilterLinc's filtered outlet and the pass through has my controller plugged in to it.
Jeff has X10 filters that are very good.
Made a big difference in how much of the power line signals are absorbed by the AC input of the UPS.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.