Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect  (Read 718 times)

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« on: March 29, 2019, 01:41:01 PM »

I updated HomeGenie this morning on my Pi device and now I cannot connect to it.  I know it is connected to my router with the same IP address, and have tried multiple ports (i.e. 8080, 8081, 8082) with no luck.

Thoughts?
Logged

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2019, 01:44:19 PM »

I can connect to HA Bridge on port 2140 on the Pi still.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2019, 02:10:10 PM »

open a terminal session using putty  and type in(or copy paste)
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart homegenie.serviceif it still fails to show up in your browser try
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl status homegenie.service to see if it is indeed running or if it started and stopped from an error.



Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2019, 02:26:26 PM »

if the status command shows HG is running and no errors try typing
Code: [Select]
sudo netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN this will show a list of ports that are listening.
I suspect if nothing was using port 80 it may have reverted to it as that is the default port.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2019, 02:55:26 PM »

Connected to the Pi via Putty.  Here is what is displayed once I enter the user and password
(see attached)

It is taking a long time to echo the commands back - trying to get this one to run:
sudo systemctl status homegenie.service

Logged

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2019, 02:56:57 PM »

Here is the output from that last command - looks like it is running
Logged

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2019, 03:00:27 PM »

Here is the info from the post listening command
sudo netstat -tulpn | grep LISTEN
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2019, 03:08:58 PM »

Ok looks like it is running on Port 8080
type
Code: [Select]
cd /usr/local/bin/homegenie once in the homegenie folder type
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl stop homegenie.service give it a few mins to shut down the service then type
Code: [Select]
sudo mono HomeGenie.exe
this will run HG in debug mode and should display a continually updated screen. Go to your browser and try to connect while in debug mode.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2019, 03:27:12 PM »

OK, tried getting it up in mono mode.

Connected via a browser it looks connected - it seems to just be taking a very long time to load

The command via Putty had these errors to report
Logged

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2019, 03:29:32 PM »

here is the browser screen - just looks like its loading
Logged

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2019, 03:30:35 PM »

more from the Putty window
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2019, 03:40:38 PM »

OK do/did you have HG password protected prior to the update?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2019, 03:42:14 PM »

If you mean do I require a user and password to sign onto HG, then yes I did.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9445
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2019, 03:45:26 PM »

Ah that is your issue if you didn't remove it prior to the update.
the latest builds changed the password encryption.
Post to GitHub Gene may have a solution.
You may have to edit a HG file.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

soxfan1966

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 191
Re: Latest update taken for HG, now cannot connect
« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2019, 04:18:27 PM »

OK, I posted on the GitHub page for HomeGenie.  I think I did that right
https://github.com/genielabs/HomeGenie/issues/379
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.