Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Installing a 3 way slave.  (Read 171 times)

mike1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Installing a 3 way slave.
« on: October 28, 2019, 06:46:45 PM »

Hi

I need help my Leviton 3 way master went bad. So I replaced with master ws12a which works fine.  Wired blue to light, black to power and red is the traveler. Now the slave is th ws14a having issues here. Cant get it to work. So I have 3 wires coming out of the box black wire power. 2nd black wire not sure what it does.  3rd wire red which should be the traveler. Not matter how I connected it doesn't  work.  What am I missing?  Greatly appreciate your help!

Thxs
Mike
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Installing a 3 way slave.
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2019, 11:15:48 AM »

Have you confirmed that the master and slave are in the right place?  If they are swapped, then the slave won't do anything.  I wouldn't have thought going from a Levaton to a X10 brand would change the position, but something to check on.

mike1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: Installing a 3 way slave.
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2019, 02:44:27 PM »

Well I have the master where the light or load is at.
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 19
  • Posts: 1755
Re: Installing a 3 way slave.
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2019, 05:06:00 PM »

According to the WS12A manual on Authentix web site, the order should be:

live -> WS12A -> WS14A -> load

If you have it reversed, it won't work.

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12719
Re: Installing a 3 way slave.
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2019, 06:09:59 PM »

Where the Leviton switches mechanical with two travelers or one of their X10 compatible models?
Logged

x10wizard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 26
Re: Installing a 3 way slave.
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2019, 12:32:35 AM »

The WS14A slave is only a dumb momentary SPST switch.  It doesn’t matter which switch box gets the master or the slave, as long as you wire each one correctly as explained below.

There are four possible wiring configurations for X-10 3-way Master and Slave switches if one assumes that the Line-In (power) cable is wired into one of the switch boxes (and not into the load box).  All configurations also assume there is a 3-wire (plus ground) Traveler cable that runs between the two switch boxes.

Config 1: Both Line-In cable and Load cable wired into the Master box.
Config 2: Both Line-In cable and Load cable wired into the Slave box.
Config 3: Load cable wired into the Master box, Line-In cable wired into the Slave box.
Config 4: Line-In cable wired into the Master box, Load Cable wired into the Slave box.

For the following, WS12A is the Master with Black, Blue, and Red wires, and WS14A is the Slave with Switch and Line terminals.

Config 1 wiring connections: For both Line-In cable and Load cable wired into the Master box.
WS12A Black <—> Line-In Black AND Traveler Black.
WS12A Blue <—> Load Black.
WS12A Red <—> Traveler Red.
Line-In White <—> Load White.
WS14A Switch <—> Traveler Red.
WS14A Line <—> Traveler Black.
Traveler White <—> cap off in each box (Traveler White not used).
Tie all grounds together in each box.

Config 2 wiring connections: For both Line-In cable and Load cable wired into the Slave box.
WS12A Black <—> Traveler White (put black tape on Traveler White wire).
WS12A Blue <—> Traveler Black.
WS12A Red <—> Traveler Red.
WS14A Switch <—> Traveler Red.
WS14A Line <—> Line-In Black AND Traveler White (put black tape on Traveler White wire).
Load Black <—> Traveler Black.
Line-In White <—> Load White.
Tie all grounds together in each box.

Config 3 wiring connections: For Load cable wired into the Master box, Line-In cable wired into the Slave box.
WS12A Black <—> Traveler Black.
WS12A Blue <—> Load Black.
WS12A Red <—> Traveler Red.
Load White <—> Traveler White.
WS14A Switch <—> Traveler Red.
WS14A Line <—> Line-In Black AND Traveler Black.
Line-In White <—> Traveler White.
Tie all grounds together in each box.

Config 4 wiring connections: For Line-In cable wired into the Master box, Load cable wired into the Slave box.
WS12A Black <—> Line-In Black.
WS12A Blue <—> Traveler Black.
WS12A Red <—> Traveler Red.
Line-In White <—> Traveler White.
WS14A Switch <—> Traveler Red.
WS14A Line <—> Load Black AND Traveler Black.
Load White <—> Traveler White.
Tie all grounds together in each box.
Logged

mike1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 28
Re: Installing a 3 way slave.
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2019, 11:57:19 AM »

Thank you !  Greatly appreciate your detailed explanation!  I will try it.  Keep you posted!
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.