Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Author Topic: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10  (Read 4767 times)

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« on: February 13, 2020, 02:06:27 PM »

I could use some help inputting my first module and getting it configured and working in HG. I would like to configure for one X10 lamp module to function with my Pi, HG, HA-Bridge and CM19a.  B:( :(
« Last Edit: February 13, 2020, 05:26:31 PM by Moose »
Logged

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 05:24:24 PM »

Please, anybody... :) I have been jumping around all over. All the directions that I have found seemed to be missing some detail. With the odd behavior of my HG, I cannot be sure that it fully installed properly.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2020, 11:33:18 AM »

I'm away for a few days so I may not beable to help much till next week are you saying you can't get HG to see your cm19? Configure/setting/X10 select port (cm19) then click enable.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2020, 02:47:58 PM »

are you saying you can't get HG to see your cm19? Configure/setting/X10 select port (cm19) then click enable.

I did configure the CM19 as above, but so far I cannot turn a light on.  :(
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2020, 03:36:37 PM »

Top right corner of HG page do you see a light or dark grey x?.
Have you added any x10 modules to a group?
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2020, 04:02:01 PM »

Top right corner of HG page do you see a light or dark grey x?.
Have you added any x10 modules to a group?

I am not sure how to answer that. Most of the time it is light grey like it is "on". I have seen it change like it has been "greyed out", if that makes sense. I had added 2 modules last night, but they seem to have disappeared.

Right now HG keeps connecting and disconnecting, as if it was doing an update. At least once a minute. Does that seem right?
 
Also, I created a Group yesterday and I cannot get into it. It stays on Dashboard.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2020, 04:23:42 PM by Moose »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2020, 05:08:18 PM »

You should not see constant disconnect reconnect messages that indicatates there is an issue some where.  I'd  stop the Hg service then start it in debug mode sudo mono HomeGenie.exe from Hg folder that way you can see possibly what is the issue.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2020, 05:35:28 PM »

We are right back where we were a couple of days ago. The debug mode just crashes.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2020, 07:38:26 AM »

Ok I thought you were using a new image. The debug shouldn't crash so the HG install may be corrupt.I belive petera told you how to reinstall HG.
If you still experiance issues then something else is messed up.
There are a few dependencies that get installed prior to HG.
I'm wondering if one of those failed ::) :'
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2020, 08:55:40 AM »

Ok I thought you were using a new image. The debug shouldn't crash so the HG install may be corrupt.I belive petera told you how to reinstall HG.
If you still experiance issues then something else is messed up.
There are a few dependencies that get installed prior to HG.
I'm wondering if one of those failed ::) :'

I was using a new image. I reinstalled a new HG. HG is still connecting and disconnecting, although I was able to configure a couple of modules, while connected. I tried your mono version again with the same "aborted" at the end.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 10083
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2020, 05:10:27 PM »

If upnp is enabled disable it. If you still have errors disable x10 to see if that stops the errors.  It is possible your cm19 is faulty. I did test my 3b* with a cm19 and had no issues however to get the most out of HG I'd recommend a cm15.
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2020, 09:28:44 AM »

I installed Active Home Pro AHP on my PC and the CM19A drivers, and my CM19A controls my hose lights and the red led blinks. Hmmm. ???
Logged

Moose

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 121
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2020, 10:05:48 AM »

It is possible your cm19 is faulty. I did test my 3b* with a cm19 and had no issues however to get the most out of HG I'd recommend a cm15.
  What is the amp. rating for your Pi power supply? Mine is 2.5 amps. I have just ordered a 3 amp, just in case.
Logged

bkenobi

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 20
  • Posts: 1866
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2020, 10:34:53 AM »

2.4a is just fine so long as the psu actually can supply that (cheap units could cut corners and may not be fully capable). I was using a Samsung charger for a while and had strange issues. Once I replaced that one (750ma) with full spec unit (2.4a) things went better.

petera

  • PI Expert
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 21
  • Posts: 1547
Re: I need help to get started- Homegenie and X10
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2020, 11:39:10 AM »

It is possible your cm19 is faulty. I did test my 3b* with a cm19 and had no issues however to get the most out of HG I'd recommend a cm15.
  What is the amp. rating for your Pi power supply? Mine is 2.5 amps. I have just ordered a 3 amp, just in case.

My PSUs deliver 2.5ah minimum. Thatís whatís important. If youíre sticking with your CM19 the more overhead you have the better. Do a little research before buying. Not all 2.5ah rated units deliver what they claim. Iím also assuming you donít have your Pi hooked up to HDMI and have mouse and keyboard attached. These are other matters to consider too. My Pi is a headless server.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.