Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Timers  (Read 148 times)

JBL11554

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 40
Timers
« on: November 18, 2020, 08:08:09 AM »

I added a timer to the light in our bathroom.  With the AHP system to create a timer for the bathroom I had to have the light come on at 100% then it would dim down to my desired setting.  Attempting to do this any other way did not work.  So now with the new X10 WIFI I have the same issue.  Initially the light might come on to a certain level but, it would get dimmer and dimmer each time it would come on.  So what I've had to do is create two timers.  The first timer brings it on at 100% and the next timer, one minute later, brings it on at the desired level.  I figure it is probably a bad switch.  Anyone else having this kind of problem?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12858
Re: Timers
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2020, 10:28:19 AM »

Do you know if  the X10 switch have Soft Start and Preset Dim? Added in 2007.
Logged

JBL11554

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 40
Re: Timers
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2020, 07:44:58 AM »

It is a WS467 Wall Switch Module.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2020, 02:17:14 PM by JBL11554 »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12858
Re: Timers
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2020, 06:40:22 PM »

If it was a Soft Start model WS467. When you turned it On. It would ramp On to full in a few seconds and when turned Off in a few seconds. It would also have a Preset Dim feature. Would also respond to an X10 Extended command.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Newer_WS467s_and_Preset_Dim

The earlier ones went On and Off practically instantly.

I don't use an X10WIFY module so I don't know exactly what maybe happening.
Or if you have a new enough WS467 to have Soft Start or Preset Dim maybe be involved.

Is your AHP was a later version. Like 3.318. In AHP was the WS467 added from the Lamps Menu or the Older Lamps (No Soft Start) Menu?

« Last Edit: November 22, 2020, 07:17:48 AM by Brian H »
Logged

JBL11554

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 40
Re: Timers
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2020, 11:01:04 AM »

This is probably going to sound crazy.  It kind of does to me and I was an electronic tech for over 30 years.  What appears to be happening is this.  After the first timer (100%) the second timer would drop the light to 30%.  The app would show the light on.  Of course, we would turn the light off with the wall switch but, the app still shows the light on at 30%.  So if you used the wall switch and turned the light on it would only come up to 30% unless you toggled the switch so that it ramped up to 100% again.  So the next morning the light would come up to 30% of the 30% the light was already operating at so it barely glowed.  So a combination of the app having on idea what state the light is in (OFF/ON) or level and the app not ramping up the light then dropping it to the set level (30%).  So this is why I have to have two timers when I turn the light on in the morning 100% then 30%.  It would be nice if a seconds could the added to the timer so that you could have the second timer drop it down to 30% say 5 seconds later.
Logged

brobin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 756
Re: Timers
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2020, 02:23:04 PM »

Not crazy.  The X10 switch is not a two-way device so the controller doesn't know you turned it off.  Assuming you always turn it off by, lets say, 4 AM, you can add a timer to turn it off at 4 AM.  When the controller turns it on again it should dim correctly.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12858
Re: Timers
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2020, 06:52:47 PM »

Thank you for the added information.
Now I understand your problem. With X10 switches not sending messages when locally changed.
Logged

JBL11554

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 40
Re: Timers
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2020, 07:41:06 AM »

I have a timer setup so that everything turns off at 11:59pm.

I decided to check No for the 'Is this light dimmable?' in the switch settings.  That solved the problem for us.  Now my better half can set the light level at the switch for whatever she wants it to be in the morning when the light turns on.  Tried it several times and it works great.  :)
« Last Edit: November 24, 2020, 08:15:11 AM by JBL11554 »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12858
Re: Timers
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2020, 11:10:03 AM »

Thanks for the update.
Glad it is now working fine.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.