Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Is it soup yet?  (Read 66603 times)

randy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2005, 09:55:52 PM »

SteveRF: Actually, I bought from Automated Outlet but I
do own a number of Smarthome products and they have
all performed perfectly. I also own quite a bit of X10 gear
and it has mostly served me well. The CM15A has been
the first real disappointment. I expected it to work as well
as my CM11A had and I got nothing but grief for almost
six months. I bounce around between this forum, Access
X10 and the Indigo forum. Indigo is a Mac home
automation server that supports the CM11A, the CM15A,
the 1132CU and the Lynx. It is rock solid at version 1.6.
Before I bought the 1132CU, I tested my (third) CM15A on
Indigo to rule out the AHP software as a problem. I know
that isn't totally scientific but I also had odd results with
that setup. I finally got fed up and dropped the cash on a
new interface and RF transceiver. I'm glad you're having
great results with the CM15A. I had hoped that I would
also but it wasn't meant to be this time around.
Logged

Bob Taylor

  • Guest
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2005, 10:10:12 PM »

Randy - get X10 to swap your CM15A with the
diagnostic unit.    
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2005, 06:40:12 PM »

Randy,
many thanks for the info...something I will
be looking at in the near future.
Many Thanks !

SteveRF
Logged

the other steve

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 37
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2005, 07:52:16 PM »

All:  Thanks for all the great input!

I dug out a second CM11A and it worked -
for a day - then heated up.  Resetting it
made it work again, but it is a different
temperature every time I touch it.  I guess
the mods are in order; that seems easier
than isolating the noise source.

I guess I'll also wait a while for AHP (I
am using XP-Pro SP2).  As long as 1.42
works, I can hold on a few months longer.

Thanks again.

Steve
Logged

hernan

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2005, 10:46:00 PM »

How can you tell if your CM15A is a
diagnostic unit? What is the difference from
the other one? I just received my CM15A last
week, so far it's working except for one
light that is not being controlled
consistenly mostly with the macro.
Logged

randy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2005, 10:51:34 PM »

Bob: I think I already have a "diagnostic" unit. They never
called it that but they sent it to me back in January after a
software update rendered my second unit useless. When I
hook it up to Indigo, the program reports that it is
firmware v. 2. It worked better than the others but it still
had intermittent issues and I had just grown weary of the
experience. I like the software, I like the price, heck, I even
like the support. X10 Pro has been very pleasant and
helpful. I just wish I could make the thing work.
Logged

Bob Taylor

  • Guest
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #21 on: April 02, 2005, 01:37:42 AM »

Randy - X10 Techs gave me a program
file "ahp_diagnostic.exe" to run, it adds
some items to the AHP program pull down
menue to dump the contents of the CM15A to
a file they could recieve then review.  Did
they send you the link for this file when
they sent your unit to you ?  
Logged

randy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #22 on: April 02, 2005, 01:39:35 PM »

They didn't send me the software. I'm guessing that it is
the new unit because Indigo reports firmware v. 2. On the
Access X10 forum we've been comparing notes and the
concensus is that firmware v. 2 means "diagnostic" unit.
My CM15A has a handwritten sticker on the back that says
Jan 27 2005.  Some of the other guys on Access X10
report that their diagnostic units don't have polarized
plugs. Mine does. Maybe I have an early production
diagnostic unit that doesn't have the final configuration.
Logged

Bob Taylor

  • Guest
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #23 on: April 02, 2005, 01:53:44 PM »

Randy, mine has a polarized plug and has a
handwritten label with "Mar 4" on it.   The
software updates AHP on your PC, adds the
diagnostic menue item.  X10 needs to
confirm your hardware and send you the
software or I can send it to you via email,
it's in a zip file...
Logged

Bob Taylor

  • Guest
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2005, 01:53:50 PM »

Randy, mine has a polarized plug and has a
handwritten label with "Mar 4" on it.   The
software updates AHP on your PC, adds the
diagnostic menue item.  X10 needs to
confirm your hardware and send you the
software or I can send it to you via email,
it's in a zip file...
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12627
Re: Is it soup yet?
« Reply #25 on: April 02, 2005, 07:09:44 PM »

Mine has a nice round dot on it marked 05C10
and reports to be Version 2 in Indigo. No
polorized plug on mine and I bought it not
an exchange or offered and refused
Diagnostics unit from X10.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.