Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss  (Read 15293 times)

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #15 on: May 03, 2005, 01:45:28 AM »

Well, we tried, but things still suck.
Macros are intermittent after a couple of
hours.  RF is less than 90%.  I remain in
the same situation as right after my
original purchase of AHP and cm15a in early
March.

I have done my best but at this point I
consider this product unacceptable.
Logged

johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 41
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2005, 07:00:09 PM »

Dick,

Sorry to hear that you are having
problems.  My setup has become remarkably
stable over the last couple of weeks.
Timers are triggered on time and macros
operate as programmed.  My biggest
complaint is that the RF range is very
limited.   I donít keep my interface
connected to my PC for more than an hour,
so I havenít experienced any issues with
the PC clock.  However, I am running XP

I have experienced some of the same issues
that you are having with unreliable
operation in the past and noticed that
sometimes the CM15A doesnít load properly.
I donít know if itís a software issue, an
interface issue, a USB driver issue or a
hardware issue.  But, before you return it
you might want to try loading your program
several times.

My CM15A has been working well for several
weeks now.  Unfortunately, I really donít
know whyÖ Iím just enjoying it.   When it
works itís really pretty neat.  When it
doesnít, itís possessed by some evil
spirits and totally frustrating.

Best wishes.
JohnN
Logged

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2005, 01:36:41 AM »

Okay JohnN, I just cleared the CM15A memory,
downloaded my macros and stuff 5 times,
unplugged the USB cord and will now wait and
see.

Give me three days to compile my results.  I
will report back.
Logged

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2005, 12:13:32 AM »

No joy here.  Macros will not fire on
events.  I can go to my PC and click a macro
activation, be it RF, event or timed, and it
works but left to it's own devices, nada.

I have spent too much energy here.  I am
cutting bait.
Logged

Former AHP User

  • Guest
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2005, 07:46:37 AM »

Yet another former AHP user in the
making.  ;)
Logged

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2005, 01:53:54 AM »

This is too much pain for what I was
expecting.  I have retrofitted my cm11a, all
of the rf modules, the old activehome
software and will now look for something
more advanced from someone other than x10.

X10 support has been lacking in the extreme,
phone call waits have been excessive, tech
support has been lacking to the point of
rote responses, config and error log files
have been submitted without response.

I'm blowing this off as a Gensui Knife...
marketing without substance is unethical.  I
will not waste my time with unethical people.
Logged

johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 41
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #21 on: May 11, 2005, 07:13:28 AM »

Dick,

Sorry to hear your results.  I certainly
understand your decision and am concerned
that I might end up on the same path.  I
did have one macro that refused to respond
and posted a request for X10pro to contact
me so that I could send him the file.  My
thought was that if he could duplicate the
condition, it might help them to figure out
whatís going on.  As you and others have
indicated, the silence from X10 tech
support is deafening.

Unfortunately, at this point my system is
totally shut down.  But, not due to X10.
On Sunday morning every device in my system
stopped working.  The activity monitor on
the CM-15A shows constant PLC receive
activity that it interprets as alternately
a B7 on then B7 off command.  Occasionally,
if I use my Palmpal I can see one of the
commands come through.   But, more often
than not the CM-15a is being swamped by the
power line noise.  I tried the TM751
without the CM-15a with the same results.
Nothing is working.  Iíve contacted the
local power company, but like X10 tech
support... Iím not holding my breath.  I
started researching noise-blocking devices
to put on my main power lines, in an effort
to try an isolate my home from the noise on
the power lines.

For now my power line noise problem has
overtaken my experimenting with the CM-
15a.  If I canít get this fixed, Iíll be
returning everything to X10 or putting them
up on e-bay!!

Iíve enjoyed this thread.   Just sorry that
it didnít have a happy ending.

Best wishes,
JohnN
Logged

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2005, 02:04:05 AM »

I just now ordered the 1132cu interface with
the full function software that includes
conditional macros.  They claim a video
interface that I will persue later.  Right
now I just want x10 commands to be reliable.

I will continue this thread with updates,
observations and experiences with this new
product.  There will be no bias.  I am an
equal opportunity critic.

So here it goes... May 12th, 2005, ordered
an 1132CU with Smarthome Manager Enhanced
software.
Logged

tcassio

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 131
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2005, 07:03:32 AM »

Hi Dick,
I made the switch about a month ago to the
1132 and things work the way they should.
Just be aware that the 1132 does not have
any RF functions built in, so if you have
any Palmpads or Motion sensors you will
need a transciever.. If the range of your
CM15A meets your needs you can use this as
your transciever. If not, there are several
other possibilities.
T.
Logged

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2005, 12:18:43 AM »

Thanks for the info Tcassio.  I do indeed
have a few motion sensors (6) and the
remotes for x10 cameras and x10 universal
remotes.  My rf range on the cm15a seems
pretty reliable.  I have gone out of my way
and at additional expense to only buy
Leviton high end switches and x10 controlled
outlets so I don't have a bunch of "dongles"
hanging out of every outlet in my house.
Removing the 4 rf x10 receivers and
replacing them with just one cm15a to be
used as a dedicated whole house rf receiver
will let me turn this serving of lemons (AHP
package) into lemonaide.  I will consider
$100 (really $50 `cause I got 3 x10
controlled outlets for free with the macro
package purchase) for a single whole house
rf tranceiver as a reasonable deal.

So in summary, I am not demanding refunds
from x10, I am disappointed that their
product is not ready for prime time, I will
take an alternative path and see where that
leads, I will incorporate my x10 product
purchases where the technology works.

Always consider yourself imortal and smarter
than everyone else because the alternatives
are really depressing.
Logged

dick collier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 26
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2005, 12:29:11 AM »

I feel your pain JohnN.  With new
construction and a/c generators in close
proximity here, the testing can be dubious
due to line noise.  As you can see by the
time of my postings, I am testing and
reporting after the construction crews go
home.

So, do you have or can you identify a window
when your power is clean?
Logged

johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 41
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2005, 09:36:35 AM »

Thanks, this is so very frustrating.

No I've check at all times including in the
middle of the night.  There just isn't any
time that the noise goes away or even
dimishes in intensity.  I did get the power
company to respond.  They checked the
transformer and said it was ok.

There is no construction going on and our
neighborhood is well established, so, very
few people move in or out.  It's hard for
me to imagine what might be causing this
kind of noise 24 hrs a day.
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2005, 10:09:49 AM »

John N: What did you change when all this
noise started? Did you add ANY THING? is
anything running all the time, that was not
running before? Can you determine if the
noise is coming from outside or inside your
house?

Sometimes the best way to determine where
the noise is originating from is to turn
off EACH breaker and check for the noise.
Maybe your computer power supply/other
device is getting ready to give up the
ghost.
Logged

martin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 125
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2005, 11:15:24 AM »

A defective, battery low, Motion Sensor
perhaps?
Logged

Tigger

  • Guest
Re: Timeline from Pergatory to Bliss
« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2005, 12:45:55 PM »

 
If you have an X10 line filter, you could
always plug the CM15A INTO the filter, and
see if you're still getting the bizzare
on/off sequence. If you are, then it's
probably an RF transmission causing the
problems.

Sometimes noise can come from multiple
sources; I usually turn off as many breakers
as I can, and then turn them back on
one-by-one, and check for interference.

(Believe it or not, I actually retired
my Smarthome 1123CU in favor of the CM15A.
However, the 1123CU is really handy for
troubleshooting, because of the LED on
the side of the unit.  If there is noise on
the line, the led will flash erratically.
If there is ALOT of noise, the LED will
only light DIMLY.  Comes in handy.)


Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.