Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!  (Read 5826 times)

david k

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 126
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2005, 06:40:40 PM »

Aqua

Your PLAN was my PLAN.

Since cameras don't take pictures in the
dark, it did little good to try at night
(even with floodlights).  So, write a macro
that triggers autostills for 15 minutes IF
it is DAYTIME and FLAG 5 is OFF (macro not
running thing) and Motion Sensor ON (motion
detected).  Easy macro, - does not work if
include Daytime conditional.  Works like a
champ if Daytime conditional removed.
Tried many variations on dusk/dawn, before
HH:MM:SS PM and such - NOPE not working.
Tried simple DO THIS IF DAYTIME.  Same
thing, doesn't work.  Sent file to X10Pro,
twice.  I think the first time he said it
works for him.  At least a dozen others
have exactly the same problem, and nothing
has been stated by X10 that it will be
fixed.

So you have to decide - abort or have faith.

Hense my former comment - needs some work!
But I do believe it will eventually work
(fingers crossed).
Logged

aqua

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2005, 06:44:35 PM »

David K.

You are like me, I think a 'die hard' user,
we can make it work the way we want!!!
Thanks for any & all feedback.

Aqua
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2005, 07:34:15 PM »

ARF,
I wonder why your diapg unit won't run
disconnected for more that several hours.  My
first unit was just like that but my diag
unit 04J44 4Mar runs for weeks and weeks
disconnected.  Actually, I never intended to
have it connected except for upgrades.  I use
macros, dims, flags and timers and they all
seem to work/fire right on time.  What the
heck is going on here.  There cannot be that
many variations out there and I do not think
I have the newest diag or a special unit.  I
would appreciate your thoughts.
Regards,
SteveRF  
Logged

tcassio

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 131
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2005, 10:11:37 PM »

AH, SteveRF,
I think you are beginning to see the
light!!!
T.
Logged

aqua

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2005, 10:30:36 PM »

I 'think' TCassio's light burnt out long ago.
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2005, 04:48:51 PM »

Aqua,  chuckle...maybe so...
If I had so many problems that the device
would not work disconnected as advertised,
I'd insist on a replacement (or 2) and if
that did not work then I'd wonder what teh
heck was going on in my house... then a
refund would be prudent.
Mine is still working pretty well however,
the rf response from 2 or more motion
detectors firing with a second or two apart
is rather slow... other than that, I am
fairly well satisfied. (for now)
SteveRF
Logged

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #21 on: May 29, 2005, 05:58:15 PM »

SteveRF -

My house was running fine for 3+ years with
my Cm11A, so the probelm is not signal
strength, noise, etc.  I have absolutely NO
idea why the diag. unit did not work well,
so I sent it back for exchange.  The
replacement unit was not recognized by
either of my 2 PCs, so at the point, I put
up the white flag and got a refund.  I
really wish X10 would analyze some of the
returned units, like mine, to find out
what's wrong!
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #22 on: May 29, 2005, 06:06:25 PM »

arf, wow !...
I had no trouble with either the bad unit or
the diag unit being recognized by my PC under
XP/Pro.  Sounds like your replacement was a
USB failure lemon.  Too bad they did not ship
you another right away.  I guess your out of
the CM15A arena now... I'd love to get a few
long time X10/Cm15a users to share
interesting and unique ways to use the CM15A.
regards,
SteveRF  
Logged

DWD

  • Guest
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #23 on: June 02, 2005, 02:57:12 PM »

Steve, something interesting that I did was
to set timers and conditionals at bedtime
for my kid.
5 minutes before bedtime, his bedroom and
the den lights dim 20%, then at bedtime the
TV is turned off.  Using conditionals I can
delay the TV from turning off when it is
appropriate for either 30 min or an hour
depending on what is going on by just
touching a button on my palmpad and only
during a limited time window around the
normal bedtime. (That keeps him from turning
it back on.) Since he now expects the TV to
die automatically at bedtime, we don't have
that battle to fight every night.
Logged

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #24 on: June 02, 2005, 03:11:50 PM »

DWD,
Thanks for sharing ideas !
That sparked some thoughts here.  I like your
ideas. Although I have no kids at home now
(whew!), your ideas have me looking into even
more ways to utilize the options of
conditionals and flags !
THANKS !
SteveRF
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #25 on: June 02, 2005, 04:17:17 PM »

DWD -
I like the idea of turning the TV off
automatically. I assume you probably use an
appliance module for this, right? Anybody
know of a way to send specific IR commands
using X10? (I'm pretty sure this has been
asked before). I don't want to have to re-
program the TV's channel memory every day.
Logged

DWD

  • Guest
Re: X-10 Pro, An Honest Thank You!
« Reply #26 on: June 02, 2005, 04:43:09 PM »

Noam, I am actually using an in-line relay
module, but an appliance module would do the
same exact thing, ie, kill electricity to
the tv.  I guess I am fortunate in that our
tv's don't need to be re-programed when they
loose power.  I have remotes that work both
X10 and infared, but I do not know of any
that have internal timers.  Even if they
did, you would still have to point the
remote at the tv free of obstructions for it
to turn it off the tv.  It is not cheap, but
their are components sold by Smarthome that
could be put together along probes that
could build a system to send infared signals
when triggered by X10.  That was just more
trouble than I wanted to worry with.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.