Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: VA11A driver missing components  (Read 2007 times)

phrozin

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
VA11A driver missing components
« on: May 25, 2005, 02:58:19 AM »

I purchased the Active Home Pro kit with the
Iwitness plugin, the VA11A USB adapter, and
12 Cameras. Now I've tried everything
possible from low level formatting & OS
reinstall to simply un-installing AHP and
reinstalling it.

The problem I'm having is the VA11A driver is
missing components. I say this because device
installation fails everytime with the 'remark'

"required section not found in inf"

I installed this software/hardware on 6
different computers. I can only get it
working on 2 computers, a Windows 98 88386
Computer (didn't run really well for obvious
reasons), and a Windows XP SP1 AMD Athlon XP
+2500 computer (ran fine on this).

I've copied all three CA506A*.inf and all
three CA506A* files from the +2500 to the
+3500 AMD computer I just built for the sole
purpose of Video capture and automation. The
only difference between the two computers
(aside from hardware) is that the +3500 is
SP2 with all available updates. (Also the
other 4 comuters that failed were SP2 XP as well)

So... Anyone have any clue as to what section
is required so I can edit it in? From what
I've been reading the past 2 days on the
regular forum I think I'm better of trying to
fix this then exchange or refund it as that
area seems to have problems.

Thanks,
Phrozin
Logged

phrozin

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: VA11A driver missing components
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2005, 02:31:12 PM »

Ok, I think I've narrowed the problem down
to one component on 4 of the 6 computers I
own. (the remaining 2 of the 6 worked) The
4 all had XP SP2 on them, but I don't think
that's the problem. I think the problem is
the Nforce Chipset. 3 of the 4 computers
run Nforce2 chipsets, while the 4th
computer runs a Nforce3 chipset. The 2
computers that function with this hardware
do not have Nforce motherboards. One is
Intel (88386) and the other is Via chipset
based.

I don't know X10's policies, but if someone
at X10 could get the motherboard specs of
their lab computers and post them here I
would really like to know what the major
motherboard chipset designer is in their
comps.

Also if someone else has this hardware
working on a Nforce chipset motherboard
Please post so I don't go chasing ghosts
around switching motherboards and
peripherals to find the common denominator.

Thanks,
Phrozin
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: VA11A driver missing components
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2005, 03:36:48 PM »

Phrozin: I don't think we have an
nForce-based systems in our lab. We do have
several other systems (Intel, VIA, and I
think more) that all work fine. I'm sure XP
SP2 isn't the problem. I'll check with one of
our hardware/driver people to see if he's
seen that error message before, and see if he
has any suggestions.
Logged

phrozin

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: VA11A driver missing components
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2005, 04:04:22 PM »

any news on this?
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: VA11A driver missing components
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2005, 04:24:36 PM »

We just got an nForce-based system today,
coincidentally, so we should be able to test
out the problem and see what's going on.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.