Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !  (Read 4929 times)

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« on: June 07, 2005, 10:41:15 PM »

Well it finally happened.  The unit that has
been so stable for so many weeks now has had
loss of control every day at dusk +20 min.
The same program set up has run for nearly 3
months now. Nothing has been changed.  I see
a constant Dusk code that I thought was
coming from a X10 Floodlight but viola,
killing breaker power to the food light
changed nothing.. Still the code appears and
triggers several lights and a constant chime.
The only way to stop it was to remove the
CM15A, clear memory and reload the program.
No good.. every day at dusk+20min the
sequence starts all over again.  Today I
removed the batteries, let the monster sit
for a bit and then reloaded.  We will see
what happens tomorrow at Dusk+20min.
EEK, Crap...
SteveRF
Logged

joe s.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 4
  • Posts: 194
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2005, 11:01:16 PM »

An honest Shucks!  Well, just like the old
saying goes.
CM15A's...can't live with 'em - can't throw
'em in a blender...
Logged

billy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2005, 06:17:43 AM »

Steve,

Are you seeing the 'DUSK CODE' in the
activity monitor? Does it say Receive RF or
PLC?
Maybe a neighbor has a new device. You may
want to try a RR501 or TM751 and see if the
activity monitor also shows a PLC receive of
the smae code.  This would show that you are
receiving a valid stray code.  Could it be a
battey in another MS going dead?
I think 04J44 is a normal unit, I have a
04J41 (2004 Oct.) unit which is the original
unit I purchased back in October. This unit
is very stable now ever since 3.80.

Good Luck!
Logged

joe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2005, 08:34:02 AM »

Steve,

Yep, mine has lost its marbles a few times in
the last 3 months but it is much better than
the good ol' days when it failed every day. I
think the diag unit just uses memory more
efficiently so the crashes take longer. There
is definately still something wrong with the
dusk and nighttime conditionals. I also have
a clock that is very susceptable to noise, it
gains time a few minutes a week, not a big
problem for me since I am resetting it
frequently due to crashes.

Well, I better bite my tounge now before I
start getting negative.... Things are good, I
am happy..... yep, I am happy...

Joe
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2005, 12:33:15 PM »

Steve: Do you have a timer set to run at Dusk
+ 20? Is the command for this timer the one
that you are seeing transmitted repeatedly?
What is the command? When this is happening
can you control your other X10 lights?
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2005, 08:49:12 PM »

Steve,

Sorry to hear about your problem with the
diagnostic unit. I to am using the
diagnostic unit and was just wondering what
percentage of memory you have left unused.

Jim
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2005, 09:00:47 AM »

X10 Pro,    Billy,Joe,Jim
I have a timer to run at Dusk+20. The Flood
light is set to issue a D6 ON (dusk) and D6
OFF (dawn). The code I was actually seeing
was a Dawn Code repeated constantly
(PLC),however, the macro that was being
activated was the Dusk D6 (ON) and setting
off a chime and issuing several lights off
commands. The macro activation was not
actually visible in the room monitor but the
commands for that macro were being issued.
It was all very confusing. The same problem
happened every day at dusk+20.  I killed the
breaker feeding the PR51 (flood Motion
Detector) to make sure that device was not
the problem.  Removing the CM15A , clearing
memory and reloading the program did not
work.  The next day at dusk+20 it happened
again.  This time I removed the batteries,
waitied 2 min, reloaded batteries, cleared
memory and reloaded the program.  Last night
at dusk+20 all was well but now I am not
trustful of the unit.... Will see how it goes
for the next day or so...and I will try and
document better next time.
SteveRF
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2005, 10:40:45 AM »

Steve,

I have had a problem with my diagnostic unit
that occurs at a random basses. I have a
very simple macro that when run turns on a
light and progressively dims it over a 2
minute period. This macro runs fine most of
the time. After running it for several weeks
it started to turn the light on instead of
off at the end of the dim cycle. The only
way I could get it to work correctly again
was to completely remove power from the
CM15A (AC and battery). After a full reset
everything works fine again. This has
happened several time at no particular
interval that I have been able to
ascertain.  This is why I was curious as to
the amount of memory you had unused. I was
thinking that it may have been memory usage
related.

This makes the post in the other thread
about the reset button sound appealing.
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: My Diag unit 04J44 finally went Bonkers !
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2005, 12:06:52 PM »

Jim,
I agree with you...the "reset" sounds like a
good idea.
I will pull the unit later today and check
memory.  I have the unit running disconnected
24/7.  Thanks for your input !
SteveRF
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.