Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Rich has a question  (Read 2824 times)

rich

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Rich has a question
« on: June 08, 2005, 12:46:39 PM »

I have been reading the forums and I am
looking to get started in a home automation
setup.  I was reading a lot of negative
comments on the CM15A I was just wondering if
the problems have been sorted out.  I really
like the looks of the interface for the AHP
but I was conserned about the reliability.
If anyone knows the status of the X10s
current products functionality please reply.
Logged

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: Rich has a question
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2005, 02:44:06 PM »

facts -
-last software revision was in mid april
-never a hardware change

OPinions -
there are many, but no reason why anything
would have changed since mid april.
Recently (yesterday?) , one of the few who
said his system ran well (steverf?), now
said his system unexplicably has failed.

conclusions -
draw your own.

<User name edited by X10>
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Rich has a question
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2005, 02:58:56 PM »

Amazing:  It has been over 2 hours and a
flame war hasnít started yet ;)

Reliability is really a relative issue and
the question becomes, how reliable do you
want it to be?  Are you insisting that it
work 99.99997% of the time in such a way
that modules never miss or misinterpret
commands?  If so, X10 (or any other
retrofit system) will not good enough for
you (only a hard wired system could claim
that kind of reliability).

The vast majority of us donít need (or want
to pay for) that kind of reliability.  Some
on this forum will say to get a certain
competitorís product because it is more
reliable.  This may be true, I donít know,
but to get most of the features that AHP
promises, you will have to pay more.

With regards to the negative comments, many
of them come from users who havenít used
AHP for several months.  In my setup, I
havenít had any serious problems (there
have been some minor ones) in the past
couple months.  I did have some serious
problems before that though.  Will it work
reliably for the next few months?  I canít
say, but things look promising.
Logged

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: Rich has a question
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2005, 03:04:12 PM »

Roger H - question about your quote below:

"With regards to the negative comments,
many  of them come from users who havenít
used  AHP for several months."

seeing as neither hardware nor software has
changed in the last 2 months, why would a
user expect things to have changed, which
your quote implies?

<User name edited by X10>
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Rich has a question
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2005, 03:41:06 PM »

several(a): of an indefinite number more
than 2 or 3 but not many

Thus several months means more than 2 or 3
months, thus those users havenít used the
latest software revision.

Having said that the thing that seems to
have fixed most of the problems is
the ďdiagnosticĒ unit, which has a new
revision of firmware (which is not field
upgradeable).  I believe all new users get
the ďdiagnosticĒ unit (X10 Pro: Please
confirm).  If you are having problems with
an old unit, you should be able to have it
replaced.
Logged

rich

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Rich has a question
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2005, 04:30:50 PM »

Thanks for the input, it seems that with the
packages that x10 offers for that price that
are hard to pass up. I see all these people
backing the 1132cu controller I am sure I
really know what the difference is from the
cm15a.  Are the cm15a devoloped just for AHP
and the 1132cu developed just for the
smarthome?  Is there a physical difference
between the two??
Logged

Tom F.

  • Guest
Re: Rich has a question
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2005, 05:10:30 PM »

Smarthome's Powerlinc USB is completely
different hardware from X10's CM15a
Activehome Pro interface.  There's not much
similarity at all, besides the fact that
both are stand-alone X10 controllers.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.