Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: What to do with 6 stick-a-switches  (Read 2756 times)

imstriker

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
What to do with 6 stick-a-switches
« on: June 09, 2005, 09:32:55 PM »

Has anyone found a use for 6 of these things
as in the sale?  I can only thing of so many
uses for the same thing in one room.  How
many doors can you have?  I think they are
nice in theory,  however mine never seem to
work in a different room than the AHP module.
Just a sarcastic curiousity...
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: What to do with 6 stick-a-switches
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2005, 11:37:27 PM »

You could give one to me. ;)  On second
thought, maybe not.  I haven't ever bought
any of them and am proud of it ;).  They
might make a good door jam though.
Logged

Tom F.

  • Guest
Re: What to do with 6 stick-a-switches
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2005, 12:49:24 AM »

I've replaced the single gang light switch
cover on the walls going into each room with
a double gang, then paste the stick-a-switch
over the empty spot.  (This is important,
because I wouldn't want to apply double sided
tape directly to painted drywall.)  Because
of the CM15a's weakness receiving RF devices,
you may need to set aside a housecode for
them, turn off that housecode in Activehome
Pro, then supplement with an additional
tranceiver module (tm-751, or a levington or
WGL all-housecode tranceiver).

If your setup runs conditional macros
reliably, you can even make one
stick-a-switch control six different devices.

IF switch 1 on and light is off, turn light
on ELSE turn light off

IF switch 1 off and fan is off, turn fan on
ELSE turn fan off

et cetera.

Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: What to do with 6 stick-a-switches
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2005, 06:53:19 PM »

I mount the wireless remote wall switches to
a blank wall by screwing a "mid-size" switch
plate to the wall with #6 flat-head sheet-
metal screws and use Velcro to attach the
wireless switch to the switch plate.  It
makes for a neat looking installation and a
couple of small screw holes are easy to patch
if it ever needs to be removed.

If I want to mount a wireless switch adjacent
to a wired switch, I get a switch plate
(again in the mid-size) with two more switch
positions than the original wired switch, e.
g., if there's a single wired switch, get a
3-holer.  Then use the original screws to
attach the switch plate to the switch box
(just letting the two "empty" switch
positions hang over the side - no additional
screws into the wall), and again Velcro the
wireless switches to the wall plate, covering
the two "empty" switch holes.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.