Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS  (Read 2442 times)

flavio silva

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS
« on: July 16, 2005, 09:33:31 PM »

Hi, guys,

Is it possible to write a macro to.. say...
take about 20 seconds to dim Home theater
lights from full bright to 0%?

Thanks a bunch in advance!

Flavio
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2005, 02:39:27 PM »

Sure - with a sequence of Dims and Delays, e.
g., define macro B1 On as:
dim A1 25%
delay 5 sec
dim A1 25%
delay 5 sec
...
etc.

You'll have to play with the dim percent,
delay values, and number of steps to get the
effect you want.  Note: The Dims from macros
_after downloading_ are actually less than
they are programmed, i.e.,  a programmed 10%
dim results in only about a 5% actual dim
sent out on the power line.
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

flavio silva

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2005, 04:35:04 PM »

Thanks, Charles!
One more for you:
Why do the XPD3 switch doesn't show to be
dimmable on the AHP software?

Thanks!
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2005, 05:33:36 PM »

Flavio:
Absence of dimming for the XPD3 looks like an
AHP bug to me.  As far as I can tell this is
just a 1-way (i.e., receive-only) dimmer
insofar as X10 commands are concerned, so you
ought to be able to substitute any other 1-
way wall dimmer (like a WS12A) in AHP.
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

flavio silva

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2005, 08:15:10 PM »

Charles,

You're the man! Good idea! And let's hope
for a fix on the program!
Thanks!
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: MACRO TO DIM HOME THEATER LIGHTS
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2005, 11:52:36 PM »

Flavio:
Post a bug message about the XPD3 under
Software Problem Reports so it won't be
overlooked by X10Pro. (Mention that it is
observed in AHP 3.187.)
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.