Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Wall Switch with a mind of its own  (Read 65592 times)

david l

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Wall Switch with a mind of its own
« Reply #30 on: August 08, 2005, 08:43:47 AM »

Thanks for the update, Icepick.  This is
Really Good News!
Tom OC, 20k is still a high enough impedance
to pick up noise.  I would use 1k (some
people have just shorted it without a
resistor but a reistor is more technically
correct).  Make sure you keep the resistor
leads as short as possible (like Icepick did)
or it just forms an antenna that can pick up
more noise than before.
Logged

carmine pacifico

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 194
Re: Wall Switch with a mind of its own
« Reply #31 on: August 08, 2005, 09:44:25 AM »

SteveRF

The relay is the best choice to prevent
your pump to restart after a power failure,
but I would else investigate why the motor
will not start.
Is the voltage within specification?  Here
in Canada there is a lot of bad
installation with 220Volts motors, building
supplied by 3 phases power have 110/208 ,
single family duelling are supplied by
110/220 Volts split phase, I had 2 enviro
chambers wired for 220 installed in our
building, the electrician  assumed that the
lower voltage was OK, but that cause over-
heating and hard starting; a simple low
cost auto-transformer solved our problem.
Logged

tim oc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Wall Switch with a mind of its own
« Reply #32 on: August 23, 2005, 01:20:06 PM »

Well, I had 3 light switches that would come
on randomly... I did the mod using 1K
resistors (I'm sure I have it going
diagonally across the chip from pin 9 to pin
18.  But, it still happens....I have to keep
turning off these lights that come on.  The
only thing I can think of to try next is to
swap light switches with one that doesn't do
this to see if I have 3 bad switches.  Any
other ideas?
Logged

icepick

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: Wall Switch with a mind of its own
« Reply #33 on: August 23, 2005, 04:25:05 PM »

Tim OC,
I don't know why the mod doesn't work for
your three switches.  Mine is still okay
after all these weeks.
Trying another "known good" switch at the
location of your problem is a good idea.
You might also want to try another house
code and address.
Sorry I don't have anything more.............
Good luck!!
Logged

sandy16

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: Wall Switch with a mind of its own
« Reply #34 on: October 11, 2012, 07:43:30 PM »

The last posts I found on this were 2005-2006 but I seem to have the same problem.  I use AHP and have a house full of x10 modules and switches, all of which work beautifully (and have for years) until just recently one three-way switch seems to have a mind of its own and goes on randomly.  The others still work great.  Also, it won't work with the AHP but works fine with the on-off remotes.  I've changed from the old switches to the new ones, from immediate on-off to slow on-off ones but the poltergeist in that particular room persists.  I've changed codes, numbers, put two things on the same number (only the "evil" twin pays no attention while the "good" twin continues to follow directions)....all to no avail.  Older posts suggest "modifying" the switch.  Since I have no idea what that is or how to do it, I seek help here for possible answers.  Other modules in the same room and/or on the same circuit breaker in the house work just fine.  Help.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2012, 04:36:20 PM by sandy16 »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.