Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: TM751 and RR501  (Read 2958 times)

marineau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 162
TM751 and RR501
« on: October 28, 2006, 01:34:26 PM »

I'm prepare to buy few RR501 or TM751

I know a difference between a RR501 and TM751 !

I know that RR501 is Two-Way...
When this option could be useful in Macro or others ?
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: TM751 and RR501
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2006, 02:21:23 PM »

I'm prepare to buy few RR501 or TM751

I know a difference between a RR501 and TM751 !

I know that RR501 is Two-Way...
When this option could be useful in Macro or others ?

The RR501 is only two-way for the built-in appliance module.  You'd have to poll it with your software or with a SDK command - there's no Status_Request command available in macros.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

vhoang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 107
    • Automation Tips & Mini DLLs
Re: TM751 and RR501
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2006, 03:36:51 PM »

Just thought I'd put it another way...  The two-way of the RR501 is only for finding out if the RR501 is in the on or off state for the appliance directly connected to the RR501. 

The RR501 is also more friendly on the powerline than the TM751.   The TM751 will force send commands to the powerline.  The RR501 will wait for quite time first before sending signals.    Subtle difference, and usually not a problem, but makes a difference when you have a multiple tranceiver / controllers system setup all doing two way communication.   The TM751 may end up corrupting an in progress PLC command.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12857
Re: TM751 and RR501
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2006, 04:21:27 PM »

Yup I also have seen TM751's step on signals as it has no powerline receiver and blindly sends.
Also the RR501 can be turned on and off by the powerline X10 signals or an RF remote. The TM751 only responds to remotes and is stuck on Unit one only. The RR501 has a choice of Unit one or nine.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.