Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Flood Cams ?  (Read 2386 times)

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Flood Cams ?
« on: July 28, 2005, 09:45:43 PM »

Anyone using the Color Flood Cams with AHP ?
Are they any good ?  Is the resolution good
enough to monitor a deck or pool area ?
regards,
SteveRF
Logged

DWD

  • Guest
Re: Flood Cams ?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2005, 09:00:04 AM »

The Flood Cams do NOT work reliabily.  I
have trashed all 4 I got.  After a month or
so the floods stop turning off.  Killing
electricity to reset solves the problem a
few times but then even that does not solve.
In answer to your question though,
resolution is ok during day, but not at
night with floods iluminated area.
Logged

Henri T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 111
  • using X-10 since '80s ...
Re: Flood Cams ?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2005, 01:22:08 AM »

Mine works fine.

The resolution is good, but wind could make
interference ...

In the night, and depending on the lights
you use, the resolution is less than in a
sunny afternoon ...

Logged
Thank you !
:) Automation is funny with X10 Gadgets ! ;)

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: Flood Cams ?
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2005, 08:06:56 PM »

Henri, DWD
I got 2 different opinions here... hummmm
That makes my decision harder..smile...
1.  At night, with flood lights on, is the
view  ok or just barely ok ?  How far...20,
40 feet or more ?
2.  How about tranmitter/receiver distance ?
Is is adaquate?  Are you guys viewing on a
TV directly or through a VCR first ?
3.  What channel options are avalable 3 or 4 ?
I appreciate your candid opinions !
regards,
SteveRF
Logged

DWD

  • Guest
Re: Flood Cams ?
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2005, 10:37:42 PM »

Steve,
The flood cams do not have audio.
The video is no better than other X10 cams.
You need a normal X10 camera receiver to
receive signal so the output is that of the
X10 receiver of which I used direct video
feed.  I think it also lets you select
channel 3 or 4 but I cant remember.
RF distance I can only confirm my setup at
@60 ft I still had good reception.
At night the view was so-so at a distance of
20ft which I used.
I just could not count on the lights turning
off.  Thus I do not use them.
Logged

ykz_pilot

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 77
Re: Flood Cams ?
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2005, 04:33:13 PM »

The Floodcam's picture at night is as good
as the day IF you put sufficient light
bulbs in the floods and point them where
the camera is (seems obvious I know).

Also, if you are having trouble with the
lights staying on, and you have AHP just
set up some macros to shut them off at
whatever interval you think would be too
long to stay on.

Just an option - mine work fine ...


Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.