Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?  (Read 2200 times)

grayson peddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?
« on: September 03, 2005, 07:05:09 PM »

Like the subject says. Addition to the
question in the subbject, how do I get the
batteries in to the motion sensor? And what
type of batteries does it take and how
many? 2?

Thanks.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12851
Re: Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2005, 07:29:57 AM »

What are you using to receive the sensors
signals. The cm15a AHP Interface or a
tranceiver like the TM751?
Batteries 2 AAA cells. Alkaline type. Real
cold outside weather Lithiums work to a much
lower temperature.
MS14a EagleEye is weather resistant and has
a small screw in the front, then the front
battery door will be removable. The MS13a
HawkEye II has a battery door you unsnap
from the front. If you want to look at the
instructions for them. In the X10 Support
Area is a list of downloadable instruction
sheets.
Logged

grayson peddie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2005, 01:44:45 PM »

OK. That explains it. I have a hard time to
see the screw in the motion sensor, but I
finally saw it with plenty of light. (Gonna
have to get a screw driver for it, plus
additional AAA batteries... I wish the
ActiveHome Pro Starter Kit includes
batteries so that I don't have to go to the
store to buy one...

Thanks.
Logged

mark m.

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2005, 05:16:45 AM »

And people like us who keep quality
batteries on hand don't like paying extra
for cheap ones that come "included" when
they are.  Better to use good ones you know
are fresh.  
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12851
Re: Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2005, 06:05:42 AM »

I never even used the batteries in some of
the X10 kits. Greencell Extra Heavy Duty,
didn't impress me.
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Motion Sensor - How do I get it working?
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2005, 11:54:44 AM »

Don’t get me going on the topic of
batteries.  The only thing I have read that
so called “Heavy Duty” cells are good for
is a flashlight and I am not even convinced
of that.  The name “Heavy Duty” is at least
50 (probably more than 100) years old and
describes an improvement of the original
carbon cell.  The alkaline cell was
developed later (apparently during World
War 2) and it is far superior.  The only
reason you can still buy "Heavy Duty" cells
is that there are suckers out there who are
fooled by the name and keep buying them
(very frequently since they don’t last very
long).

It is interesting to note that Consumer
Reports did an evaluation of different
types of alkaline cells and discovered that
although there are minor differences
between the no-name alkaline cells and name
brand alkaline cells, the difference is
very small, especially when compared to the
price difference.  They also discovered
that the “High Drain” alkaline cells do
provide slightly better performance in
highest drain devices (digital cameras
primarily) they are not worth the extra
cost even when compared to the regular
cells of the same brand.  When used in
other devices (MP3 players, CD Players,
flashlights, etc) “High Drain” cells
provided practically no improvement
whatsoever.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.