Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Insteon quality?  (Read 2297 times)

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Insteon quality?
« on: October 28, 2005, 06:12:00 PM »

Hi,

I wired up my KeyPadLinc today and was
testing and linking and stuff. The
ApplianceLinc that I had connected to the 40
watt flouresent light in one of my
aquariums 'smoked'. I could smell a
definite 'toasty' aroma in the air. I could
still hear the relay click, but the device
no longer turns off the light.
Prior to that, I was switching the same
module with the CrontroLinc II without any
problem.

As a fool, I plugged in a second
ApplianceLinc. With my KeyPadLinc, I turned
the light on, off, then on and after that I
could hear the relay click but the light no
longer switched off with my second module. I
think I toasted that sucker too.

I am a big fool in that I removed the ground
lug on the first module, no warranty repair
on that. On the second module I was using
a '3 pin' to 'two pin' adapter plug.

Right now, I am a little discouraged. I have
purchaced, oh, about seven hundred dollars
worth of Insteon modules in the past three
weeks. My $60.00 dollar comment is that
the 'V2 ApplianceLinc' module cannot switch
flouresecent loads, no matter what it says
in the literature.

I had actually signed up to be a Beta tester
for SmartHome last week. No reply yet so if
they want my toasted module(s) they will
need to pay the purchace price, plus
shipping.

I am sad. No way around that. This is
starting to look like another 'X10' Beta
crap rip off.

Ken
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12858
Re: Insteon quality?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2005, 07:48:46 PM »

By chance is the light the kind with a older
type starter and ballast? They don't like
them at all. I burned out one myself with a
15 watt under counter light. I can tell you
that the local sensing current tickels the
ballast that makes big spikes and blows a
component. Then the light tries to light
through that sensing circuit and over heats.
If you leave it ON it will not smoke as the
current is then going through the closed
relay. Mine went back on their dime and they
where taking my data for over a half hour as
mine was one of the first reported. On
accessha.com we have more data on such
things. Join us if you have not yet tried us.
Logged

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Re: Insteon quality?
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2005, 02:03:19 PM »

FYI

This thread is continued in
the 'accessha.com' forum.
I apologize for posting in two forums. I
thought the subject important enough to
justify that.

Regards,

Ken
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12858
Re: Insteon quality?
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2005, 03:08:06 PM »

It is fine and I have posted in many forums.
They are not connected at all. So post as
many as you think will be effective.
Logged

Mike S

  • Guest
Re: Insteon quality?
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2005, 07:47:43 PM »

Since Insteon is made & marketed by a
competitive company, Why are you posting on
X10 forums..Waste Their bandwith, not X10s

To: X10 moderator
I wouldn't be at all dissapointed if you
edited (deleted) these topics as it isn't
your product.
Logged

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: Insteon quality?
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2005, 09:26:20 PM »

Insteon can be controlled by Activehome
Pro.  Also, while a competitor does make
some products to the Insteon protocol, in
theory there could be many vendors,
inclding X10 that do in the future, just
like there are many vendors that make
products compatiable to the X10 protocol.
Logged

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Re: Insteon quality?
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2005, 09:33:01 PM »

Again FYI

I am still an X10 customer.
I recently bought into Insteon.
I thought other X10 people would like to
know some of my experiences so that they
might be able to make more informed choices
when it is time to buy new modules.

Sorry for the waisting X10's band width.

Ken
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.