Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Conflict  (Read 3831 times)

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Conflict
« on: December 15, 2005, 10:38:49 PM »

I have a conflict with X10 and my I-Drive
garage door opener. I think they are both
running on the same frequency and changing
the garage door opener is not an option. Is
there a filter of some kind I can use to
isolate the problem.
Logged

james couper

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: Conflict
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2005, 04:38:24 AM »

Have you tried a Diffrent house code on the
X10 part of the system..  You did not state
in your message what was the conflict...  is
the X10 opening and closeing the Garage door?
what X10 parts are you useing eg: Palmpad,
or other wireless controllers.  What are you
trying to controll with the x10..  james
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Conflict
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2005, 11:10:34 AM »

Rob:  What sort of conflict are you having
with your garage door opener?  Is it causing
problems with the powerline or RF commands?
I don't really know much about the I-Drive.
Logged

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: Conflict
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2005, 03:49:27 PM »

James ...
I am using palmpad and 5in1 remotes for
various wall switchs, appl. mods and lamp
mods. I have tried different house codes.
Conflicts happen when I turn on lamps and
then another lamp or appl. mod, or dim a
lamp, other lamps turn on (sometimes up to
4 others)when I didn't pust their
respective mod code.  If I unplug my "I-
Drive" garage door opener, everything works
just fine.  Do you know what frequency X10
uses? Rob
By the way, the garage door opener works
without any problems.
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Conflict
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2005, 04:15:52 PM »

Rob: Does the problem happen when you are
controlling lamps from the computer or only
with a remote?  It sounds to me like it is a
powerline noise issue and an X10 noise filter
on your garage door opener should solve the
problem.
Logged

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: Conflict
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2005, 05:30:59 PM »

Roger:
Honestly haven't seen the problem with the
PC but, I mostly use the remotes. I guess
I'll try the noise filter. Is there a
certain model filter I need or is there
just one type?
Thanks, Rob
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Conflict
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2005, 11:42:18 PM »

Get either an XPPF Plug In Noise Filter, 120
VAC or a XPF Wired In Noise Filter, 120 VAC
for where the garage door opener is
connected. Depending on how the opener is
connected will determine which filter to buy.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: Conflict
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2005, 12:28:58 AM »

Thanks Dan and Roger:
I've done some experimenting and the
problems only seem to happen with remotes
and palm pads. When using just the PC,
everything works fine. By using this XPPF
noise filter, will this solve my romote
conltrol problems?

ps You can visit
http://www.hamburgdoor.com/idrive/idrive_tor
sion.htm  to see the Garage Door opener I
have.
Logged

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: Conflict
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2005, 12:31:53 AM »

A better look at the opener (that's giving
me trouble)is at  http://www.wayne-
dalton.com/DirectDrive.asp
Logged

billy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 42
Re: Conflict
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2005, 01:12:26 PM »

Rob,

Looks like your opener uses Homelink RF
devices. According to Homelinks website
http://www.homelink.com/brands/lighting.tml
it is also X10 compatiable. Might need to
read your operators manual on programming
for the opener to eliminate your conflict
problem.
Logged

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: Conflict
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2005, 11:43:00 PM »

Thanks Billy, I'll check it out before I
start buying filters.
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Conflict
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2005, 01:15:06 PM »

Rob:  That is a strange one.  If the garage
door opener is generating RF interference, a
noise filter won’t help you.  I wouldn't
think that RF interference would cause other
lamps to turn on though.  This is something
that is more likely to occur with some type
of powerline interference.

Maybe the garage door opener has a whole
house transceiver built in and it is
competing with your CM15A.  Try unplugging
your CM15A from the wall and then check if
you can turn the lights on and off with a
remote control.  If you can, then that is
probably your problem and you can fix this
either by disabling the transceiver in your
CM15A or by plugging your garage door opener
into a noise filter.  Otherwise, I don't know
what to suggest.
Logged

rob

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 39
Re: Conflict
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2005, 06:57:26 PM »

Roger:
Everything works fine via computer or
Bill's X10 Voice Commander. Only sometimes
it screws up when using remotes. If the
garage door opener is unpluged, everything
works as it should. I have not had a chance
to see if I can change the RF code on the
opener yet but, that will be my next step.
If that doesn't work, I'll have to try a
noise filter on the opener. If you have any
other suggestions, I'm all ears. Thanks.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.