Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: How do I control a chandelier?  (Read 5922 times)

bzellinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
How do I control a chandelier?
« on: July 12, 2006, 11:04:07 AM »

I have a 5-bulb chandelier with a knob-style wall switch dimmer. What x10 wall switch do I need? Or is this even possible?
Logged

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5969
Re: How do I control a chandelier?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2006, 11:50:00 AM »

Assuming you are using standard incandescent bulbs, and not CFLs,  this switch will work

http://www.x10.com/automation/ws467_s.html

Just replace your current dimmer with the WS467.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: How do I control a chandelier?
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2006, 12:01:27 PM »

Just make sure you don't exceed the wattage rating for the switch. Otherwise it's just like a single light.
Some switches are only rated for 300W. For one of those you couldn't use more than 60W bulbs.
The WS467 that dave w recomended is rated for 500W so as long as you're not using 5 bulbs rated over 100W each you should be ok.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2006, 12:07:57 PM by steven r »
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

bzellinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 18
Re: How do I control a chandelier?
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2006, 12:18:08 PM »

Thanks. Just bought 3 of them on eBay for $30 shipped.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.