Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?  (Read 11086 times)

Tom D

  • Guest
Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« on: January 09, 2006, 12:55:10 AM »

Hi, I would like to know if there is any
way to make the CM15A connection to the
computer wireless.

I control the device with a wireless
laptop, yet to control my wireless modules,
I have to plug in the CM15A to my laptop's
USB port, and often times have to unplug
and move the CM15A from my office or living
room.

Maybe this is not possible at all, but what
about the CM19A that I own?  I cannot get
ActiveHome Pro to allow it to send
commands.  Firecracker works, but the codes
are all over the place and too hard to
remember and change the rotary switch.

Thanks for any input.

Tom D.
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 01:02:08 PM »

I just read about a product shown at CES that
makes any USB device wireless, and there's a
wireless USB spec that people are starting to
develop for, but I'm not sure of any other
way to make the CM15A wireless. It would be a
great thing to do, though, and if any other
users have ideas I'd be interested to know.
Logged

GUMMIBEARZ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 05:17:39 AM »

http://www.belkin.com/networkusbhub/ it wud b cool to c something like this incorperated in ur goal..
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2011, 10:08:36 AM »

Won't work (the CM15a needs to be connected with a USB cord, that's the way it is built.  Plus the Belkin link you posted reveals the item is "out of stock, check back later".
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2483
    • davehouston.org
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2011, 10:38:30 AM »

Won't work (the CM15a needs to be connected with a USB cord...
The Belkin device has 5 USB2.0 ports (wired) so it might work. Several companies made these hubs but most have been didscontinued. You can find them on EBay...http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw=wireless+usb+hub

A search on wireless USB hub might turn up others.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 10:44:29 AM by dhouston »
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2011, 09:46:47 PM »

I tried a USB-over-LAN adapter, which acts as a server that connects the CM15A to the LAN, and then there is software on the PC that bridges the two.
The problem I had with the one I tried was that it required running the software and re-connecting to the device manually when logging into the PC. There was no way to script it.
I briefly tested that the PC could see the CM15A and talk to it, but the lack of any persistence in the software was a deal-breaker for me.
That one was wired (not wireless), but I have to image they work in a similar fashion to the Belkin device that was listed above.
Logged

GUMMIBEARZ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 10
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2012, 01:05:02 AM »

Won't work (the CM15a needs to be connected with a USB cord, that's the way it is built.  Plus the Belkin link you posted reveals the item is "out of stock, check back later".

Sorry for the very long reply... I actually own this item, and it works perfectly when i test with cm15a.. it basically just connects via ethernet to ur router, then u download the software on each computer, the software displays devices just as any other usb.. (with the added ability to disconnect an connect).. obviously ud still need device drivers... it also has an automatic, connect when in use functions that make regular printers pretty much wireless... Overall i love it... and it does work! (lol even tho i dont use it in my main setup, just for printer, harddrives, and cellphone charging lol)
Logged

axgupta1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 71
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2012, 07:05:04 PM »

Although this thread is a bit dated, I would like to add that I have just finished testing CM15 with IOGear GUWIP204 Wireless USB hub and it does not work. The AHP software does not complain about CM15 being missing but none of the commands work, downloading to interface does not work, activity monitor does not update and clearing interface memory does not work. There is no error but the command continues to work indefinitely without doing anything.
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2012, 08:10:01 PM »

So, we know the answer to making the CM15A Wireless:  FORGET ABOUT IT!!!!!!!  This topic needs to be blocked off.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

dave w

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 136
  • Posts: 5961
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2012, 05:33:54 PM »

Dan has spoken. We should forget about this, it can't work.
Logged
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

pomonabill221

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 239
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2012, 08:19:40 PM »

When posting, it is very annoying when abbreviations are used, like u (for you) and us ( for you would), etc., so could we stop using these abbreviations and actually spell out the word, please?
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2012, 05:22:24 PM »

You didn't read Dave w's post did you?   This topic is closed.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

beelocks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 9
  • Posts: 239
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2012, 06:23:36 PM »

Dan, if this topic is closed why do you keep responding to responses?  ;)
Logged
Although my explanations may not be exactly clear, I do hope for slightly less cloudy.

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2012, 09:11:24 PM »

Because it is closed.  The topic goes back to 2006 with no way to make the CM15A wireless.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

dhouston

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 37
  • Posts: 2483
    • davehouston.org
Re: Any way to make CM15A Wireless?
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2012, 09:26:16 PM »

Of course there is.

1 Arduino + 1 USB Host Shield + 1 WiFi Shield

But, given that the CM15A has been discontinued, may as well leave it closed.
Logged
This message was composed entirely from recycled letters of the alphabet using only renewable, caffeinated energy sources.
No trees, wabbits, chimps or whales died in the process.
https://www.laser.com/dhouston
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.