Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: USB Problems  (Read 4354 times)

poursha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 77
USB Problems
« on: February 09, 2006, 11:06:24 PM »

Ok, here is my setup, and problems I've
been having:

First off, I AM (or was) using an extension
USB cable.  I didn't want the CM15a on the
same plug as the puter.

Problems I've been having.  Sometimes I've
noticed that the Activity Monitor dies.
And, also, sometimes I push buttons and
macros inside of AHP, and nothing happens.
I use extrernal controls (remotes, etc..)
and the same macros work fine.

The fix...  I just unplug the USB, and plug
it back in.  Usually works.

Wondering if major part of my problem is
the USB extension.

Just tonight, I changed my setup to include
an extension CORD, instead of an extension
USB, and I went with the short USB.  Will
report back if this fixes totally.

Also, I'm pretty sure that I'm USB2.0.

RoB
Logged

Dan Lawrence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 68
  • Posts: 3991
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2006, 11:17:13 PM »

Any USB 1 ports on your computer? If you do,
swap a device with the 15 so it's on the 1.
X10 won't admit it, but the 15 doesn't like
USB2 ports for some reason. I've had to swap,
so has Bill (of BXVC). Strange.
Logged
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

tyryn

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2006, 12:56:32 AM »

Rob may be able to prove the extension
problem if he happens to have a cheap 4 port
USB hub handy AND a known low speed USB
device such as a USB mouse.  Plug both the
mouse and the extension cable into the hub
and the hub into the USB2 port.  If I
remember correctly, the existence of a low
speed device on a USB segment will force the
hub to not transmit at the 480 Kbps (USB 2 )
rate.
Logged

neal

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2006, 01:20:04 AM »

X10 techs seem to be missing any
comprehension capabilities here! I've tried
detailing the problem to them but they're
just totally dense or something.  I think
they understand the problem but just
haven't got a clue how to fix it. What a
load of crap, anyway. My suggestion is call
your local BBB or attorney general & file a
complaint - these ****s aren't going to
fix the problem until we find a way to
force them to stop selling this ****!
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12856
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2006, 07:03:15 AM »

Could also be noise. X10 hasn't used any
extra noise suppression it didn't need for
minimum protection. Some here have added 4
bypass caps to the power supply and IC chips
and their problem where gone.
Logged

arf1410

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 270
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2006, 11:34:56 AM »

so in other words Neal, you don't have a
strong opinion?

Brian H - I have heard about the capacitor
mod before, but I have yet to hear X10 Pro
make any comment about the need for this.
Has he commented to you? Has X10 ever made
a comment about the unrecognized USB device
issue - other than the "fix" of the battery
removal routine - which is a work-around,
not a fix?
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2006, 12:24:39 PM »

There shouldn't be any problems with the
CM15A and USB2 ports in general; I can maybe
see specific hardware having trouble.

Neal: Can you explain to me (here or in an
e-mail to ahpsupport@x10.com) the problems
you have had trouble getting technical
support to understand?
Logged

yznhmr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2006, 03:28:28 PM »

i had all kinds of weird problems with my
AHP...untill i put my AHP on a keyspan
usbserver( allows remote usb through cat5
cable ), plugged the AHP into an outlet
right next to my  breaker box, and
everytime i was done tinkering around with
the software on my AHP, i went into
services on my PC and shut down the
x10 "service".. my system has
worked "PERFECTLY" ever since...
no filters... no extra nothing..
it is now 100% reliable.. which i need as
my 330gal aquarium is connected to the AHP.
it runs my water top off , my lighting, and
various pumps...
Logged

andre

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2006, 08:46:13 PM »

Hi guys,
I'm the person that came up with the 4
additional capacitors to be added to the
CM15A circuit board.  Everyone that has
applied the mod has done so because of
timers and macros that have ceased to
behave.  All units that have been modified
are rock solid stable.  Mine has been
running since last July.
USB problems may be related because one
of the symptoms is that the USB interface
doesn't work when the macros go stupid.
The mod is simple and takes about 10
minutes to implement.  You require 4 0.1uf
ceramic capacitors. Axial or radial or even
surface mount types work.  Apply them to
the following locations on the board:
one across C11, one across C12, one across
pins 1 and 8 of U2 the 24C64, and one
across pins 6 and 11 of U1 the CY7C63723
microcontroller.
I would like to know if the USB problems
are solved by the caps.  USB 2.0 ports will
downspeed to match the capability of the
slowest device on the port, including
downstream of the hub.
Cheers.
Logged

john drummond

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2006, 11:55:39 AM »

RoB Runkle's description of how his CM15A
operates is almost identical to mine, except
I can't make my unit ever go "good", even
unplugging it, removing batteries, etc.

The EXACT same unit worked fine on my
previous computer (using USB 1.0), but when
I upgraded computers and got USB 2.0, my
problems began.

I have traded a few emails with X10
support on this topic.  We have tried all
the usual things, like deleting, reloading,
powering down, pulling batteries, etc.  I
look forward to the response to my latest
email asking for further "experiments" to
fix my operation issue.
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2006, 02:56:01 PM »

Rob -
This sounds very similar to what I have,
too. Does teh Activity Monitor just seem to
stop recording timer activity, with no rhyme
or reason? When that happens, does it still
record activity from "external" sources
(like hand-held remotes, or motion
detectors)? I have found, usually, that re-
downloading will make it work again, most of
the time. Anybody else out there have
something similar?
Logged

yznhmr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2006, 09:01:11 PM »

did you try stopping the service?
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2805
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2006, 09:43:38 PM »

Stopping and restarting the service
sometimes fixes it, but it shouldn't break
in the first place.
Logged

yznhmr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 16
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2006, 03:52:33 PM »

i have found you have to leave the service
turned off if you leave the AHP module
attached.. unless you are doing some
programming.. or logging
Logged

poursha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 77
Re: USB Problems
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2006, 09:43:53 PM »

Still screwing up.  The removal of the
extension USB seemed to work for a little
while, but nada.  Still screwed up.

Easy fix though.  Although it IS a pain in
the A$$ to have to unplug and replug the
USB.

I haven't paid much attention to the
Activity Monitor lately.  But, the break
down is obvious when the AHP won't respond
to ANY commands from the PC.  Most
everything still works (remotes, macros,
timers, etc..).  But, the PC communication
to the CM15A gets screwy.

It MIGHT have had something to do with me
pluging in my iPod in the USB right next to
the CM15A.  I noticed it was screwed up
after I had been away for a few days.
Then, I reset, and all good.  Then, just a
few hours later, it was screwed up again.
Only thing that I might have had an impact
is that I plugged in my iPod to charge.

Rob
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.