Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?  (Read 13010 times)

WillGloy

  • Guest
Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?
« on: May 02, 2005, 04:07:44 PM »

Currently I have 8 cameras with two
Transceivers that I connect to a Channel
plus distirubtion system so I can check
either the front or back of the house on a
couple of my cable channels.  Since I don't
want to loose this feature, I was wonder if
it would be possible to use two Transivers -
one to the cable system and the other to I
witness.  I'm also currious if I could use
two tranceivers with Iwittness as well.
This way I could capture both the front and
back yard activity.  Possible?  Any system
limitations I would need to be aware of?
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2005, 05:09:57 PM »

You mean video receivers for wireless
cameras, right? If so, you should be able to
use one receiver (or two) receivers connected
to your cable system like you do now, and
also have a receiver connects to your
computer for iWitness.

Since you can only use one VA11A with
iWitness, that might limit the number of
receivers you can connect to your computer.
If you figure out a way to use two receivers
with one VA11A, then you'll be able to do
exactly what you want.
Logged

jim lytle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2005, 01:35:01 PM »

"you can only use one VA11A with iWitness"?

That's something I was unaware of.  I just
installed iWitness and have only one camera
connected to one VA11A.  I just ordered two
additional VA11A's thinking I needed one
for each camera I connect to the computer.
Isn't that correct?

Can you parallell the outputs of two or
more cameras and feed the combined output
to a single VA11A, stitching between
cameras using the adressabel power supplies?
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2005, 12:09:01 PM »

Jim,

No you do not need a separate VA11A for each
camera. You also do not need a separate
video receiver for each camera. Just be sure
that you have each camera set to a separate
unit code (same house code).  Take the
output of the video receiver and connect it
to the input of the VA11A. That is all there
is to it. I currently have six cameras  set
up this way and they all work fine.


Jim
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2005, 12:14:53 PM »

Jim,

I should have mentioned that if you are
using wired cameras instead of wireless ones
you can connect them to the VA11A. You would
simply parallel the outputs of the comers to
the input of the VA11A. Just make sure that
you use a different unit code for each
camera. Only one of my cameras is wireless
and I have it connected to the VA11A along
with the wireless ones using a Y connector
and it has been working for me.

Jim
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

jim lytle

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: Will IWitness support multiple Transceivers?
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2005, 06:38:34 PM »

Thanks for the feedback Jim.

Just our of curiosity I checked the
resistance across the video output RCA jack
on an unpowered camera.  It's almost 15
megohms.  That's essentially an open
circuit, even with several cameras
connected in parallel. So adding additional
cameras shouldn't affect the signal quality
as long as only one camera at a time is
powered up.

I did get three "Y" connectors so I could
parallell four wired cameras.  Only have
three up and running so far, but everyting
seems to work just fine.

I'll keep the extra VA11A's as they came
bundled with the Ninja robotic pan and tilt
system.  Just received those today.  It's
really cool (as X10 advertising says) to be
able to manipulate the cameras from the
PC.  With events triggering macros to
controll the position of cameras, the
possibilities are endless.    
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.