Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The New WIFI Module is now available!
                   *****Here's the link******

Author Topic: Xcam2 - No video  (Read 14895 times)

jim

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Xcam2 - No video
« on: May 27, 2005, 09:39:37 AM »

I have a Xcam2/Ninja camera watching my
backyard.  It works fine for a few hours and
then no video.  I don't think it is the VA11A
because I can reboot the computer and the
problem remains.  If I unplug the power from
the wall to the Ninja and plug it back in all
is well (removing the power jack between the
Ninja and the power brick does not fix the
problem).  Is there a X10 command I can send
to the Ninja that might restore the video
feed.  The problem seems to be in the power
supply brick which feeds the ninja and camera.

Thanks
Logged

tomsteffan

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Xcam2 - No video
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 02:24:53 AM »

Same problem that I have with 3 power supplies. Checking with a VOM shows that the supply puts out about 20v from the end (tip) of the stereo connector and from the middle connector. After several hours only the tip connector is putting out voltage. Unplug and plug in again fixes problem but just for several hours then same thing. Sending an on/off command to the power supply doesn't seem to do anything. Does anyone know how this should work?
Thanks.
Tom
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12396
Re: Xcam2 - No video
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 06:06:59 AM »

http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/XM14A

First with out a load the unregulated supply will measure higher than +12 volts.
Tip is constant +12 volts for camera electronics.
Middle ring switched +12 volts for transmitter and Ninja motors. It should go On and Off with an X10 Power Line command to its X10 address.
Base is Common - for both +12 supplies.

If the Switched +12 is missing. I would think the electronics in the power supply has a problem. Guess is a switching transistor or the components driving it. Missing switched +12 volts would also keep the transmitter from turning On and there would be no video on the receiving end. Also if it is not On the Ninja will not pan and tilt.

Cycling the power will turn them back On as they default to On at power up. Any On signal to another X10 address in the supplies group of four. Will turn it off. Groups are same House Code Units 1-4,5-8,9-12 or 13-16. Turn any one On the other three go Off with no specific Off needed.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 07:30:30 AM by Brian H »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12396
Re: Xcam2 - No video
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2011, 06:22:15 AM »

Jim; All the X10 wireless cameras are controlled by X10 power line signals.
They work in groups of four. Same House Code and Unit Codes 1-4,5-8,9-12 or 13-16. Send a power line ON to any in the group the other three in the group go Off with no added Off command needed.

By default. The power supply is On, when power is applied. So unplugging and reconnecting the power supply turns the Camera On.

Do you have any Motion Sensors with an address your Ninjas Power Supply is addressed to?

Like if you are using A1. Anything using A2-A4?
Turning On anything using A2-A4 would turn Off the Ninja and video.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 07:13:34 AM by Brian H »
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 285
  • Posts: 12396
Re: Xcam2 - No video
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2011, 07:35:08 AM »

Motion sensors are sometimes the cause of unplanned On and Off.
Most have a Dusk Dawn feature and it is one Unit Code above the Motion Address.
So if you are turning a camera On and Off with lets say B1. At dusk B2 ON is sent from the motion sensor. The camera is on B1 it goes Off because B2 is in it group of B1-B4.  ;D
Logged

tomsteffan

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: Xcam2 - No video
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2011, 09:32:06 AM »

Thanks for the information Brian. It's all starting to make sense now. I now know I'm not sending an "on" signal to any camera. I just have to figure out why. But now I have a starting point.
Tom
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.