Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Connecting MyHouse  (Read 18155 times)

Mystyx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 201
  • eye see you
Connecting MyHouse
« on: December 05, 2005, 01:40:48 PM »

Hi, I was wondering before I buy this
software what the connection requirements
are.
I have AHP setup on an OLD PC that is
Networked directly to my NEW PC then from
my NEW PC to the internet.
I dont have a router connected, I dont have
my OLD PC network bridged to the internet
but can use internet on it.

will this software require a direct
connection to the Internet? or bridged?
I dont wish to do this as its a security
risk for my OLD PC (stripped for speed)

Mystyx
Logged
Anything is Possible, NOW!! But What can I afford?!
I Can't Afford Time, cause Money is so Important!!

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Connecting MyHouse
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2005, 02:25:37 PM »

The set-up you describe should work with no
special effort. If it doesn't work, let us
know and we'll help you make it work.
Logged

jay t

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Connecting MyHouse
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2005, 06:21:15 PM »

I'm interested in learning more about
connecting remotely to the X10 via the
phone line.  I can get on the web from my
office DSL line -- what I don't understand
is how my home computer connects to the
internet via the phone.  Thanks.
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Connecting MyHouse
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2005, 06:24:40 PM »

Jay T: Assuming you have a modem and an ISP
for a dial-up Internet connection, you have a
couple options for connecting. One would be
to leave your dial-up connection active all
the time. You could also set your computer to
automatically connect when trying to access
the Internet, and then use macros to start
and stop the connection to the MyHouse
Service. Finally, if your modem supports it,
you can use the auto-connection settings in
MyHouse to call your house using a special
ring sequence (you define it) that tells
MyHouse to connect to the Internet and start
the MyHouse Service for a specified period of
time.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.