Contact | X10.com
August 01, 2014, 02:29:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: The X10 Community wants to know how you use your X10 system!
Share your story in the Automated Home Showcase.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanguard not working  (Read 14886 times)
tony c.
Jr. Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 20


« on: December 07, 2005, 08:46:49 AM »

I installed the MyHouse upgrade to a PC that
also ran Vanguard on.  After the upgrade,
the Vanguard software will NOT transmitt any
video.  I can see the scanning buttons
change (I have it set to scan between
cameras).  Is this by design and I will not
be able to switch?

Thanks.
Logged
X10 Pro
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 23
Posts: 1420


« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 09:24:33 AM »

You should be able to run ActiveHome Pro with
MyHouse Online and Vanguard on the same PC.
We'll take a look at this here and see what
we can figure out.
Logged
mark
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 25


« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2005, 11:24:05 AM »

I reported this problem during the beta
test and have yet to receive a version that
fixes it.  The x10net.dll that is installed
with MyHouse does not work with the
vanguard client viewer.  You do get
connected and can see the controls but
there is no video.

Mark
Logged
X10 Pro
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 23
Posts: 1420


« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2005, 11:28:34 AM »

We are working on an updated Vanguard
release, which should be ready soon.
Logged
X10 Pro
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 23
Posts: 1420


« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2005, 04:27:28 PM »

We've updated Vanguard to address these
problems. The new client version will install
next time you go to gate.x10.com. For the
server, run the program, right click to open
the pop-up menu, and choose "Check for update."
Logged
tony c.
Jr. Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 20


« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2005, 05:37:03 PM »

I tried to do the update (right click etc.)
to the server and it starts but then quickly
ends with a message "A new version of this
installation is on the server. Please re-
download the installation".  I click OK and
it just terminates.

I tried uninstalling Vanguard, reloading it,
registering it. It still will not do the
upgrade.

Any other suggestions.

Thanks for your help.
Logged
anonymous
Guest
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2005, 10:08:38 AM »

The client works now.  It did not install
automatically for me.  I had to remove
c:\Program Files\Common Files\X10
\Common\Xvidn.dll

After removing this the client installed
and now works with the latest ActiveHome
x10net.dll.

I have not yet tried updating to the latest
Vanguard server.

Mark
Logged
mark
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 25


« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2005, 10:17:04 AM »

I just tried upgrading the Vanguard server
and I get an error.  The install starts and
get to 69% then an error comes up that
says "Could not communicated to the network
server, error 0. File not completely
downloaded." It allows you to abort or
retry.  Hitting retry several times just
comes up repeatedly with the same error.  I
tried restarting from scratch and got the
same results.

Mark
Logged
tony c.
Jr. Member
**

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 20


« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2005, 06:24:30 PM »

Has anyone been able to update the server?

I updated the client on a couple of PC's,
but when they try to connect to the old
server, I don't get video.

I get an error message every time I try to
update the server... see my previous post.

Thanks...

Logged
mark
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 25


« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2006, 02:39:08 PM »

I tried again today to download the
Vanguard Server and still get the download
error.  Any chance of fixing the file on
the download server?

Mark
Logged
X10 Pro
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 23
Posts: 1420


« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2006, 04:19:13 PM »

Try the update now. I fixed the file on the
server.
Logged
mark
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 25


« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2006, 05:26:06 PM »

Thanks, The install works now.

Mark
Logged
mark
Full Member
***

Helpful Post Rating: 0
Posts: 25


« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2006, 08:26:48 AM »

Ever since this new version of the Vangurd
control software has been released the
connections have become very unreliable.  I
can only manage to connect about 50% of the
time.  Some times the connections are down
for hours and other times its days.  The
servers at gate.x10.com have become very
unreliable.  It would be nice if we could
make direct connections without the X10
servers for both Vanguard and MyHouse.  Is
it possible to revert back to the previous
version of Vangurd so I can have reliable
access to my vacation homes cameras?

The status on the Vangaurd server software
indicates it is having trouble connecting
to the server whenever the connection is
unusable.
01/21/2006 11:22.48.926:Server Offline
01/21/2006 11:22.48.926:Server Online
01/21/2006 11:22.27.826:Server Offline
01/21/2006 11:21.29.262:Server Offline
01/21/2006 11:21.29.262:Server Online
01/21/2006 11:21.08.302:Server Offline
01/21/2006 11:20:23.257:Server Offline
01/21/2006 11:20:23.257:Server Online
Logged
anonymous
Guest
« Reply #13 on: February 01, 2006, 10:51:56 AM »

The damn server is down again.  This
sucks.  I wish I could revert back to the
previous version so this worked more often
than not.
Logged
X10 Pro
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Post Rating: 23
Posts: 1420


« Reply #14 on: February 01, 2006, 01:48:18 PM »

Unfortunately, this isn't a problem with
Vanguard versions, but something occurring on
the server. We're working on this, but it's a
bit tricky and I don't have an estimate for
complete resolution.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | X10 Mini Timer
© Copyright 2013 X10.com All rights reserved.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!