Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Simple Smart Macro Fails  (Read 35756 times)

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Simple Smart Macro Fails
« on: November 17, 2004, 12:36:14 AM »

OK, this is my first attemtp to get a smart
macro up and running. I figured I'd keep it
very simple to make sure I'm doing things
correctly. First, for what it's worth, I
have my CM15A set to monitor house code A. I
created a very basic smart macro that tests
to see if it is after a specific time, and
if that is true then turn on module A5. The
smart macro trigger is A12. Well of course
it didn't work and I've tried changing a
couple things and resetting the trigger time
but nothing happens. So I take it that the
macro needs something else to trigger it?
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2004, 01:54:57 AM »

I'm having problems also.

Maybe I don't understand how to program the
conditionals yet but I believe I correctly
set one to blink a light once if between
1:00am to 1:45am. I set the else to blink
the light twice between 1:45am to 2:00am.

Regardless of what time I triggered the
macro, it was the else that executed.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2004, 02:10:23 AM »

What did you use to trigger the macro or how
did you get it to fire?
Logged

mike

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 17
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2004, 02:58:24 AM »

I'm still waiting for the promised
SmartMacro plug in after X10 glitched the
first attempt but it sounds like you just
want a timer. A conditional macro only
checks the time when it is fired and either
runs or exits. Unless it is triggered in
its "allowed" time nothing happens. It's
useful for stuff like only putting on
outside lights when motion is sensed in
certain hours but it needs something like a
motion sensor or manual RF trigger to run
at all.

Mike
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2004, 08:21:41 AM »

I used an RF remote.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2004, 08:59:57 AM »

"I used an RF remote."

That helps explain my misunderstanding. I
thought that a conditional macro could be
triggered by simply testing for dusk or
dawn. Looks like it needs an external
triggering device to fire. I used one of my
RF remotes and set it to A12 which is the
Macro address and things worked. Now all I
have to do is figure out how to apply all
this new knowledge in a pracital manner. lol
Logged

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2004, 11:08:21 AM »

I thought I read somewhere that a smart
macro can be triggered by a timer. I haven't
been able to get that to work. Can anyone
explain how to get a timer to trigger a
smart macro or am I just plain missing the
obvious here. TIA
Logged

mike

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 17
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2004, 11:56:02 AM »

You can attach a timer to a regular macro
but I don't know if you can to a
SmartMacro. Click on the + symbol next
to "Timers" in the left pane and a list of
defined modules and macros appears to allow
you to select what you want to attach the
timer to. Are the SmartMacros shown? If so,
you should be able to trigger them with a
timer.

I think you should be able to but I can't
be sure as I'm still waiting for the SW
after getting the SmartMacro offer from
Michael Cole last Thursday and the botched
registration & download e mail last Friday.
It's getting to the point where it would
have been far less aggravating to pay for
it although I'm still likely to return
everything ($200+) before I do that as a
matter of principle.

Mike
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2004, 12:50:04 PM »

Mike: You have an e-mail from me about Smart
Macros.

In the current implementation, a timer for a
macro with conditions works the same as for a
timer without conditions -- at the time set,
the macro runs, regardless of the condition.
Logged

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2004, 02:24:55 PM »

"In the current implementation, a timer for
a  macro with conditions works the same as
for a  timer without conditions -- at the
time set,  the macro runs, regardless of the
condition."

Well that explains why I can't get a any
conditional elements into a timer controlled
smart macro. I guess the question whether or
not there are plans to change this so that a
rimer can really control a SMART macro?
Logged

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2004, 02:27:57 PM »

You know, I'd really like to be able to edit
my posts! lol  The question is whether or
not there are plans to allow a timer to
trigger a SMART macro with conditional
elements.
Logged

mike

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 17
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2004, 02:41:30 PM »

Now I'm confused. Guys are you saying you
can't write a Smart Macro that tests a flag
and modifies it's actions based on the flag
and then attach a timer to it? Mike's super
prompt reply seems to imply the opposite.

It would make sense to me if you can't
attach a timer to a macro that has a time
based condition since that would be a test
that would be redundant since it would
always be either true or false.However, it
would be a major shortcoming if we couldn't
attach timers to Smart Macros that test
flags. I'd like to set up Palm Pad macros
that set/reset flags for when I get home
and go out, then have timers that trigger
lights on/off only when the "not home" flag
status is set.

Mike
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2004, 02:49:32 PM »

Why do the timers run regardless of the
condition?
How would I do the following:
Have a light H2 turn on  at 4:00 pm, ONLY if
another light (H3) is on as well?
I can create a macro to turn on H2 only if
H3 is on, but you're saying that if I set
that macro to run on a timer, it will ALWAYS
turn the light on? How do I schedule a
conditional macro to run at a certain time?
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2004, 03:28:51 PM »

You guys point out good uses of timed macros
where you still want the conditions tested.
The way we currently create the timers that
doesn't happen, but I'll make sure we change
that soon.
Logged

bebop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 49
Re: Simple Smart Macro Fails
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2004, 03:52:04 PM »

"You guys point out good uses of timed
macros  where you still want the conditions
tested.  The way we currently create the
timers that  doesn't happen, but I'll make
sure we change  that soon."

Great, that's good news. I have been using
simple conditional macros with my CP290 and
using a shareware loader utility for the
last 10 years! I would have a light turn on
or off depending on whether or not dusk or
dawn would occur before or after a specific
time for example. I know that's a simple
conditional test but one that was very
helpful depending on seasonal lighting
changes. Now with the use of the new
conditional smart macros and external light
sensors like HawkEye or EagleEye
accommodating for cloudy scenarios which
produce an artificially early dusk would be
possible too -- but being able to use timers
to trigger real conditionals is a good
starting point. As I see it, the current
timers would have to have to be capable of
being set to "any" rather than a specific
time, just some way to trigger the logic
part of the macro to fire another module.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.