Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Timers and Smart Macros  (Read 11098 times)

john g

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Timers and Smart Macros
« on: December 22, 2004, 08:17:27 PM »

I have set up a smart macro to run at a
specific time using timers.  It runs like
this:
- It first checks if flag[1] is set. If
true it should turn on light A1.
- This does not work.  I checked the
report status and flag [1] is set.
- If I remove the test for the flag the
macro works fine.
Any ideas? I am running 3.175.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 271
  • Posts: 9949
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2004, 03:49:28 PM »

You can't use flag 1 it gets set everytime
you download  to the cm15a. Also you can't
use 15 and 16 as these are used for the dusk
dawn timers use one of the other flags and
you should be ok!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2004, 08:10:56 AM »

NOTE: Flags 15 and 16 can be used IF you
are note using the dusk to dawn times.
Otherwise I don't know why they say that
there are 16 flags available when
effectively there are only 13 flags. Unless
1 and 15/16 can be utilized at any time
that you require them there is no point in
refering to them. Flag ONE should have been
at then end of the list since most people
usually start with the first flag when
using them. REAL SMART on X10's part!
Logged

john g

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2004, 10:17:35 AM »

Thanks for the feedback:
-  I changed this to use flag 2 - still the
same issue.
- I then tested using a timer to start a
macro without a condition - that worked
fine.
- I then tried adding any condition that I
knew was true (date range, etc.) and it
does not work.

It seems as though using a timer to trigger
a macro with a condition does not work! Has
anyone made this work? I have reloaded the
software, cleared out the cm15a and
reloaded, etc. and no luck.  Any ideas?
Logged

Henri T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 111
  • using X-10 since '80s ...
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2004, 11:21:36 AM »

John Gale,

Sometime, the flags are not resetable for
an unknown reason.  Have to remove
batteries and unplug the interface to clear
the flags.

But you can use the "specific time" option
in the macro instead of trigging the macro
by a timer.
Logged
Thank you !
:) Automation is funny with X10 Gadgets ! ;)

john g

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2004, 04:12:16 PM »

Henry

Thanks for the input.  I tried what you
suggested with no luck.  It appears that
the conditions are tested after the macro
is triggered. I does not appear that the
time condition triggers the macro to start.

Just to be clear:
- when I trigger the smart macro with an
RF switch or motion sensor - the conditions
(flags, date, time, etc.) all work fine.
- It is just that I can not get the macro
with conditions to trigger without the
outside trigger.
- If I remove the condition - the macro
triggers from from the timer just fine.

I really just want the macros to run at
certain times and behave differently based
upon what flags or other conditions are set.

Am I crazy here?  Is this supposed to work
as I think it should?  I have tried
emailing and calling support but have had
no response.  I am considering sending this
all back and going with something else
(SmartHome?).



Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2004, 10:52:10 AM »

John G: You do need an outside trigger to
start macro execution. You can't just
expect the macro to execute just because
you are testing for a time inside of a time
range. Whether you trigger it from a timer
or from a remote is immaterial, you require
this trigger - something has to tell the
controller what macro to execute. Time
conditions are designed to check to see if
the macro was triggered within the time
range specified - NOT to be executed when
ever the time is between the time range
specified. If that was the case then your
macro would be executing every second
within your time range (ie: from 8:00 to
8:05 (300 seconds= 300 executions) rather
than once if you set off a motion sensor).

Based upon your earlier post It appears
that you are mistaken about how macros are
executed. If you only want a macro to
execute during a certain time frame then
you have to use conditional time range to
allow the macro to execute. The macro may
initially execute outside this time range
(up until the conditions are checked) and
then stop - but there still has to be an
outside trigger. Macros in AHP are event
driven - they will not execute on thier
own - timers, remote controls, motion
sensors, 2-way devices can all cause a
macro to execute. Your conditional tests
dictate whether the commands contained
within the macro will be executed or not.
Logged

john g

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Timers and Smart Macros
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2005, 05:34:27 PM »

Donald - thanks for your input.  I
understand that I need an outside trigger
to start a macro - I was using a timer.  It
did not work when testing additional
conditions (flags, module status, etc.).

I have purchased the Smarthome program and
module and everythign works as expected.  I
am returning AHP and the CM15A back to
X10.  Hopefully they get this product fixed
one day...
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.