Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Smart Macro Install  (Read 34636 times)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Smart Macro Install
« on: November 16, 2004, 03:37:04 AM »

My Smart Macro install went well.

While the chained macros approach was not
what I expected, I think I figured out how
to use them. I had hoped to be able to just
add a condition to my existing shutdown
macro to turn the front light back on at
night. It looks like I have to copy the
steps to my "chained else" macro.

How about an update to the help file with
examples?

The programing option of using the wizard
or not is a nice touch.

I have yet to test what happens when the
conditions for the "else macro" overlap
with the main marco. Will we have a case of
dueling macros?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2004, 01:22:42 PM »

No dueling macros -- the first condition
that's true will be the one that runs. We'll
be updating the help and providing more
examples. That's definitely needed.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2004, 11:22:27 PM »

"...the first condition that's true will be
the one that runs."

Let's see if I understand it correctly.

e.g.
A Primary Macro conditionally executes
between 1:00 pm and 7:00 pm.

The ELSE conditionally executes between
Dusk and 12:00 am.

If it's 6:59 pm the Primary Macro is going
to execute regardless of weather the sun
has set. If it's 7:01, however, the else
comes into play and would only run if the
sun had set.

Between midnight and 1:00 pm nothing
happens.

Have I got the idea correct?
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2004, 12:36:55 PM »

Steven R: Exactly right.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2004, 09:57:43 PM »

"Exactly right."

I guess that means my conditionals aren't
working, then. :(

I made one this morning the triggered the
else during the time of the primary macro.

BTW.. AHP displaying the time between
midnight and 1:00am as "00:mm am" is a bit
confusing. It would be more correct to use
24 hr time as "00:mm" or 12 hr time
as "12:mm am". Combining the 2 is confusing.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2004, 12:06:52 AM »

Correction: I forgot to include seconds in
my example.

AHP displaying the time between midnight
and 1:00am as "00:mm:ss am" is a bit
confusing. It would be more correct to use
24 hr time as "00:mm:ss" or 12 hr time
as "12:mm:ss am". Using "00" as an hour for
12 hr time could be confusing.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2004, 12:17:38 AM »

This "0:mm:ss am" format exists in both the
clock at the bottom right of the page as
well as in the activity monitored times.
Maybe I'm just picky but I'd rather have it
in 12hr or 24hr time not the "zero hundred
hours am" it is now.
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2004, 12:47:02 PM »

Steven R: The extra leading zero during the
AM while using 12-hour time should be gone as
of 3.169. When I look here that's the case,
but if it's not for you let me know.
Logged

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2004, 05:32:42 PM »

"The extra leading zero during the AM while
using 12-hour time should be gone as of
3.169."

I wasn't referring to the leading "0" which
is indeed gone. I was referring to the fact
that the correct way to represent 12 hr
times between midnight and 1:00 am is in
the format "12:mm am" not "0:mm am"
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Smart Macro Install
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2004, 06:26:51 PM »

Oh, OK. We'll fix this in the next update.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.