Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Any way to purge pending X10 events?  (Read 11155 times)

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Any way to purge pending X10 events?
« on: October 06, 2005, 08:49:06 PM »

Hi all,

I use a motion detector / macro to trigger a
50 second video recording. I discovered that
if the macro retriggered while the capture
was going on my WinXp, sp2, 2.66Ghz system
would throw a "This program has performed an
illegal function" error and shut down AHP.
I tried using flags and that made it much
more reliable, but, when I have a lot of
triggers in a short time (about 15 per 30
seconds), the error still occurs.

My macro (A1 is the motion detector):

Trigger Conditions A1 On and
Flag Status Off - 1
End Trigger Conditions
Set Flags[1]
Record Snapshot
Start Recording Video
Wait 50 seconds
Stop Recording Video
Wait For 15 Seconds
Clear Flags[1]

My video CODEC is 'DIVX 6.0'. The stock
CODEC was so poor that video recording with
it was a waste of disk space. The DIVX coder
does take longer than 'real time' so that at
the end of a video capture it typically runs
on for five seconds. My 15 second
delay "should" handle that.

My my next thought is that if I can
elliminate any pending X10 events in
software my problem will go away.

I can duplicate this failure if I click 'Run
Macro' about ten times, real fast.

Any ideas? Thoughts?

Regards to all,

Ken
Logged

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Re: Any way to purge pending X10 events?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2005, 09:47:08 PM »

Let me add to this,

I just found that if I restarted my computer
after a failure, instead of just restarting
AHP, I cannot duplicate the 'clicking on the
macro over and over' failure.

X10.net?

My original question is still valid. Any way
in software to purge pending X10 events?

Any and all thoughts will be appreciated.

Ken
Logged

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Re: Any way to purge pending X10 events?
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2005, 03:24:30 PM »

FOR THE RECORD :

I spent most of this morning trying to
figure out what the 'heck' was going on with
my macros, and video, and stuff.

I set up a separate macro that triggered on
the motion detector, and used flags, and a 5
second delay to prevent false re-triggers.

That worked great, as far as providing a
stable macro trigger with multiple RF
triggers. I used a remote RF sender in my
test. Efectivly a switch 'debounce circuit.'

I am not real sure what to think, except
that, when you make a change to your macros
be sure to 'save' and 'download'. If X10
things start acting wierd, restart your
system.

You X10 support people are not really all
just 'bots', are you?

I have not heard much from X10 lately. That
could mean that you all got laid off.

Or, maybe the robot monitor just didn't
understand anything we all said.

Or, the 'bot' 'puter' got fried in some of
the storms we had reciently.

I hope no one got laid off.

Regards,

Ken
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9467
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Any way to purge pending X10 events?
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2005, 08:01:57 AM »

you can purge delayed macro events it's
under tools but I'm not sure if thats what
your looking for. :)
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

raym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 119
Re: Any way to purge pending X10 events?
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2005, 10:55:07 AM »

FYI

I have been running my video capture macros
for two days steady with no problems now.
I 'think' the trick is to have the flags and
conditions in a macro that gets stored in
the interface.

Example:
I made a macro that would turn on a fictious
X10 device (P1) when/while the conditions
were met. A motion detector is one of the
triggers.

This macro was stored in my interface. My
video capture macro just has 'P1 ON' as its
trigger.

I can only guess that the 'Run From
Computer' Video macros have troubles
handling conditions while a video capture is
going on.

Ken
Logged

Noam

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 49
  • Posts: 2800
Re: Any way to purge pending X10 events?
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2005, 01:42:32 PM »

I can't verify this, but I remeber reading
somewhere that conditions get ignored when a
macro is run from the AHP software. They
only work when the macro is downloaded to
the CM15A. Perhaps X10 Pro can shed some
light on this.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.