Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range  (Read 5851 times)

andyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2005, 10:08:58 AM »

I don't think the USB recognition problem is
a hardware fault.  I have seen this problem
and it always appeared to be a consequence
of a CM15a lockup.  Since I cured the
lockups I have not seen the USB problem.

BTW I've now been running the same load for
12 days with no timer shift, no failed
macros, and no lockups.  Computer is not
connected and CM15a is not my rf receiver.
I need to add some more controls to my build
so this test run will probably end on the
weekend.

I hope X10 does some testing in a noisy
power line environment.  I'm convinced many
of the CM15a problems are caused by power
line noise.  I accept that noisy power lines
and poor phase coupling may stop any X10
system working properly but they should not
cause controller program crashes. - Any
response X10 pro?

Andy
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2005, 12:04:07 PM »

Andy: I agree that powerline noise shouldn't
cause the interface to crash or stop working,
and if that's causing problems it would be
good to know. What source of noise did you
identify and isolate?
Logged

britt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2005, 12:11:25 PM »

AndyD,

You mentioned curing the lockups.  How did
you do that?

Thanks!
Logged

andyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #18 on: January 14, 2005, 01:03:31 PM »

My noise source was the power supply of the
Dell laptop used to interface with the
CM15a.  Info is on this forum somewhere.

Lockups were eliminated by using a filter on
the Dell PSU and by installing a phase
bridge.

Andy

Logged

mark n

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #19 on: January 14, 2005, 05:23:55 PM »

I have still not received the promised
email or phone call from tech support. 3
days and counting on that one...

As requested by X-10 Pro's post, I plugged
the CM15 USB cable back into the computer
and opened up AHP (3.175). Selected
Hardware config and when the window opened,
time popped up correct, but battery time
remaining was 0. I am positive that I reset
it before I pulled the unit last time...
and for sure there have been no long power
outages. I reset battery time and hit save.
Then, I noticed that all the macros that
have delays in them had begun to run, right
where they had stalled several days ago. In
fact, I had several macros all executing at
once, and the timing intervals appeared to
be correct. Hmmm... sure sounds like the
clock simply stopped, and querying the unit
over the USB link started it again!

I added a couple of new modules and some
additional macros for test purposes and
then downloaded and saved to the CM15.
Unplugged it from the computer and moved it
back to it's home outlet out in the hall.
Started up the monitor routine on the
libretto and we'll see how long it lasts
this time.

One odd thing: at the instant I plugged in
the USB cable, the activity monitor in the
AHP software reported activity on
address "P-16" , but my powerline monitor
saw nothing. Don't know if that is
meaningful or not...
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #20 on: January 14, 2005, 05:53:44 PM »

Mark: Thanks for the additional information.
This is in the same family as a few other
problems we are currently looking at in
depth. Can you send your AHP data file to
ahpsupport@x10.com? We might want to run your
exact configuration here.
Logged

mark n

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 13
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #21 on: January 17, 2005, 12:32:29 PM »

Will do... Still running this morning,
clock is accurate, all timers executing.

Seems like the fact that the battery time
remaining gets reset to 0 when the unit
goes sproing ought to be a clue...
Logged

britt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 11
Re: Is 3rd time a charm? we'll see... CM15A RF range
« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2005, 12:50:25 PM »

I have noticed the same thing.  So far, three
days and still running....
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.